Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm new to Linux and decided to install Aliens Vs Predator 2 since I always played it on Winsodws. I know that it is possible to play the game on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question How do I install games?

I'm new to Linux and decided to install Aliens Vs Predator 2 since I always played it on Winsodws. I know that it is possible to play the game on Linux because theres a Linux dedicated server to download after you install the game. My question is how do I install the game when the setup file is .exe (windows executable)? Do you use the terminal? I'm not very good with it yet.

Thanks,
    ~Aaron

Quote Originally Posted by roughneck8
    I'm new to Linux and decided to install Aliens Vs Predator 2 since I always played it on Winsodws. I know that it is possible to play the game on Linux because theres a Linux dedicated server to download after you install the game. My question is how do I install the game when the setup file is .exe (windows executable)? Do you use the terminal? I'm not very good with it yet.

Thanks,
    ~Aaron
    EXE files are for MS Windows machines. The only way to run them is through some sort of emulator (Win4Lin, VMware) or through a proxy program (WINE, Cedega, Crossover Office).

Also, just because there's a Linux dedicated server doesn't mean there's a Linux client that you can actually play. Some companies just like to whore out Linux boxes to host their Windows games and not give anything back (such as Valve). To the best of my knowledge there is no Linux client for AvP 2, only a dedicated server. The only way you'd be able to install it is using one of the programs I mentioned earlier.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Just Joined!