Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hello: I finish with problems with sound and OSS (the fault is Konqueror and kio_thumbnails. Before play Quake 4 kill Konqueror and kio_thumbnails and /dev/dsp is free). But.... I don't ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy No voices at Quake 4 (sound yes)


    Hello:

    I finish with problems with sound and OSS (the fault is Konqueror and kio_thumbnails. Before play Quake 4 kill Konqueror and kio_thumbnails and /dev/dsp is free).

    But....

    I don't have voices nor at the intro nor at the game.

    Anyone can give me a clue?

    My version of Quake 4 is 1.2.1


    Greetings

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast carlosponti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    560
    Quote Originally Posted by krovikan
    Hello:

    I finish with problems with sound and OSS (the fault is Konqueror and kio_thumbnails. Before play Quake 4 kill Konqueror and kio_thumbnails and /dev/dsp is free).

    But....

    I don't have voices nor at the intro nor at the game.

    Anyone can give me a clue?

    My version of Quake 4 is 1.2.1


    Greetings
    you are missing some of the multimedia files from the game it sounds like. double check to make sure you copied everything you needed off the disk.
    Blog
    Registered Linux user 396557

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by carlosponti
    you are missing some of the multimedia files from the game it sounds like. double check to make sure you copied everything you needed off the disk.
    Yes, I copied out the 12 PAK files out of the DVD following the FrontPage guide.

    I don't understand because I don't have voices.

    If I can I'd put a MP3 sample where listen "anything" when the woman talk in approach to the planet (in intro).
    After, nothing to listen nor in the movie nor in the game.

    But I can listen the voice of Kane when jump and burn in the fire of the beginning.


    Greetings

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1

    you need more then the 12 pak files

    You need more then the 12 pak files. Did you remember zpak_english.pk4 from CD1? Go to http://zerowing.idsoftware.com/linux/quake4/ for a complete list of the files you need.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3
    Thks.

    I reinstall the game step by step (copy GAME000.PAK, 12 PAK and languages PAK) and after aply patch 1.2.1

    Now I have all voices.

    I believe my problem was I install first patch and after copy the 12 PAK files...


    Bye

  6. #6
    Just Joined! samurailink3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    US
    Posts
    28
    You just helped me with the same problem. Thank you very much.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •