Find the answer to your Linux question:
Okay, so I have a plan for this summer, and here it be: I want to build a fast, but inexpensive shuttle pc that'll be used mainly as a game ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Lightbulb Linux Game Console (Which Distro Should I Use?)

Okay, so I have a plan for this summer, and here it be:
    I want to build a fast, but inexpensive shuttle pc that'll be used mainly as a game console. I want it too hook up to the TV and have a very nice menu... and run it all from a controller or remote. Now here's the catch. Which Linux distrobution will make it easy for me to pull off this project? Even moreso, I'm going to need a lot of help putting this together, because I'm very new to Linux (I've passed newbie status! YAY!)

My plans for this system's hardware are:
    128MB Graphics Card
    1Ghz CPU
    512MB (or if cheap enough... 1GB)
    4 USB ports (for up to four controllers)
    5.1 Digital Surround Card
    PS/2 Ports for manual override (maintanence, ect.)
    Media Card Slot (for saves)
    DVD Drive (Movie Playback/CD Playback, MP3 Playback... and games to run)

What I'd like to do with it software-wise:
    Movie playback (as many formats as possible... but AVI, DivX, XVid, and OGM for the basics along with DVD support)
    Music playback (Mainly MP3, WMA, OGG... but support for other plugins)
    Emulators (Including PS1 which will use the CD Drive, and me thinks the basic
    emus will be appropriate)
    Support for Linux games (SuperTux, ect.) that have use with the controllers.

If anyone can help me with this project, I'd greatly appreciate it!

-SkullFire
    Last edited by skullfire; 07-15-2006 at 01:28 AM. Reason: ...

Just Joined!

Lightbulb

m8
    me to a newbei to linux
    but talking about gaming and multimedia i prefer to use windows.

and abut the configuration

--how abut board wiht pci-e, 3.2ghz
    and 512 mb ati or nividia gpu