Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hello everyone! I'm running RedHat 9, and the built-in OpenGL games (eg TuxRacer) run extremely slow (~1FPS) on it. Is this a config-related problem? I also have a Mandrake 9 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    9

    SLOW OpenGL on RedHat 9


    Hello everyone! I'm running RedHat 9, and the built-in OpenGL games (eg TuxRacer) run extremely slow (~1FPS) on it. Is this a config-related problem? I also have a Mandrake 9 CD and a Morphix CD and they both run the games fine on my computer. I don't know exact version numbers now b/c I'm not at home, but I will get them ASAP. Thx!

    --Khumba

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    If you have an nVidia card, you will have to download and install nVidia's proprietary binary-only drivers to get 3D acceleration.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    9
    Ok, I dled the drivers and now it runs great. Thanks a lot!

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    23
    I'm brand new on this forum and prety new to linux. How do I install new nvidia drivers for my nvidia geforce 4 mx440?

    I'm assuming they come from nvidia's official site. I've had many difficulties in the past installing downloaded stuff so I want to be clear.

    thanks.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    9
    Yep, you can go to NVidia's website and download the driver. Make sure that you do it without X running (no GUI, if your computer boots into graphical mode then boot into single-user mode instead by adding the number 3 onto the bootloader's command). Also, you have to be root.

    The installer is very easy to use. It's pretty much going "Ok, Ok, Ok." After it's installed you have to manually edit the X config file, read carefully at the end of the install, it'll show you how to do that.

    Good luck!

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2
    ok, trying to do the same thing here, but I've only been using Linux (RedHad FedoraCore3) for about 2 days now. Where do I find the bootloader's command, and where do I put the number 3???

    I'm completely lost, but I'm trying to learn....

  7. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Windsor, CO
    Posts
    656
    He means you need to run the installer outside of X Windows (the GUI base).
    Just open a console/terminal window, and enter:
    Code:
    su
    init 3
    You'll need to enter the root password when you put in "su" as well.
    When you're done and you want to restart X windows, just enter:
    Code:
    init 5
    Emotions are the key to the soul.
    Registered Linux User #375050

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •