Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Is there ANY way to get 3D support for my ATI radieon 9600 graphics card?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie dalinux_n00bie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    226

    ATI graphic card


    Is there ANY way to get 3D support for my ATI radieon 9600 graphics card?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    You can download ati drivers from their website: https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206...ler-8.30.3.run

    Here are installation instructions: https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206...30.3-inst.html

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie dalinux_n00bie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    226

    Thumbs down

    i did that and my whole x system got screwed and i had to reinstall linux.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Which Linux distribution are you using ? Is it a 32 bits or 64 bits version ?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie dalinux_n00bie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    226
    32bit system

    AMD anthlon XP 2200+
    1GB kingston RAM
    120GB western digital HD
    Asus MB EDIT: Abit
    2x DVD dual-layer Burners
    ATI Radeon 9600

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Lurking around your hda
    Posts
    13
    Hrm. I don't have a great deal of experience with ATI cards (I'm an NVIDIA man myself), but I'd check to make sure that you are using the correct driver version for your card.

    Ah-ha! I think I know what it is, is that an ASUS A8N board by any chance? Even if it isn't, the ASUS boards require their own separate drivers to run properly. I ran into this on my NVIDIA system. You have to install the MB drivers, the chip set drivers (if you need them. My A8N-SLI Deluxe board has an NVIDIA chip set), then install the AMD CPU drivers (yes, there is such a thing as CPU drivers) then install the video card drivers/anything else.

    By the way, I'm not certain if all of those have Linux builds.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by dalinux_n00bie
    32bit system
    So... which Linux distribution are you running ?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie dalinux_n00bie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    226
    Quote Originally Posted by Reformat
    Hrm. I don't have a great deal of experience with ATI cards (I'm an NVIDIA man myself), but I'd check to make sure that you are using the correct driver version for your card.

    Ah-ha! I think I know what it is, is that an ASUS A8N board by any chance? Even if it isn't, the ASUS boards require their own separate drivers to run properly. I ran into this on my NVIDIA system. You have to install the MB drivers, the chip set drivers (if you need them. My A8N-SLI Deluxe board has an NVIDIA chip set), then install the AMD CPU drivers (yes, there is such a thing as CPU drivers) then install the video card drivers/anything else.

    By the way, I'm not certain if all of those have Linux builds.
    oops....its an Abit MOBO...not Asus..mixed them up...hehe (note the edit above)

    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    So... which Linux distribution are you running ?
    I"m using SuSE interprise 10 (which..correct me if I'm wrong.. is SuSE 10 trial right?)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •