Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
how do i install UT2003 on suse 8.1? is it possible :s...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    17

    UT 2004 installation?


    how do i install UT2003 on suse 8.1? is it possible :s

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    17
    sorry the topic name should be 2003.....sorry bout that

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,296
    Yes it is, use the linux installer on disk 3

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    17
    what do u mean use disc 3.......install what with disc 3?

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,296
    the linux installer for ut2003 is on disk 3 of the ut2003 cd set

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Honduras, Central America
    Posts
    5
    ok, I have the Ut 2003 cd set, and I run the linux_instaler.sh, then when it is installing then a window pop-up and says "Please mount the Unreal Tournament 2003 Playdisc CDROM", and i insert the others cd's then I prees ok, but nothing happens. i'm new in linux, so i don't know what to do.

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,296
    This link tells you the answer to your problem:

    http://www.linux-gamers.net/modules/...p?articleid=18

    I will summarise it here:

    Log in as root via $ su -, mount the CD with "mount /media/cdrom" (or your corresponding mountpoint, if it is different.

    Then it is recommended that you run "export SETUP_CDROM=/media/cdrom" to prevent the installer from polling all the drives constanly during the install.

    Start the installer from the base directory where your CDROM is mounted (i.e. /media) dir via # ./cdrom/linux_installer.sh, not by running # ./linux_installer.sh since then the mountpoint is blocked and you won't be able to switch CDs.

    Since you need to unmount and mount the next CDs login a second time as root and change into the /media directory to run # umount cdrom and # mount cdrom when needed.

    Then it will as you to insert "Play Disc", this is Disc 1, then it will ask you for "Disc Number One" which is in reality is Disc 2 and finally it will ask you for "Disc Number Two" which is Disc 3.

    Confusing? it certainly is! blame the damn game devs for messing up the cd names.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Honduras, Central America
    Posts
    5
    ok, I tried that way, but it gives a message that says "-bash: ./cdrecorder/linux_installer.sh: No such file or directory" what I did was, "su-", then "mount /media/cdrecorder" then "export SETUP_CDRECORDER=/media/cdrecorder" then "./cdrecorder/linux_installer.sh

    did I do it rite ? or it was wrong ?

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Honduras, Central America
    Posts
    5
    linux:/media/cdrecorder # export SETUP_CDRECORDER=/media/cdrecorder
    linux:/media/cdrecorder # ./cdrecorder/linux_installer.sh
    -bash: ./cdrecorder/linux_installer.sh: No such file or directory
    linux:/media/cdrecorder # export SETUP_CDROM=/media/cdrecorder
    linux:/media/cdrecorder # ./cdrecorder/linux_installer.sh
    -bash: ./cdrecorder/linux_installer.sh: No such file or directory


    that was what i exactly did.....i'm wrog ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •