Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
The BBC transmits all of its Radio broadcasts as Real Player streams over the internet. It also transmits some (its core stations) in a format suitable for Windows media player. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190

    Howto use Amarok to play BBC Radio stations over the internet


    The BBC transmits all of its Radio broadcasts as Real Player streams over the internet. It also transmits some (its core stations) in a format suitable for Windows media player. These stations can be played through Amarok.

    Open up Amamrok, and open the Playlists (vertical button on the left hand side of the player). Now add the BBC radio station to the Radio Streams limb of the Playlist tree, by right clicking on it (ie. right click on the words Radio Stream) and select Add Radio Station.

    In the popup box, put the name of the name of the station, and in the URL field put:
    Code:
    Radio 1
    mms://wmlive-acl.bbc.co.uk/wms/radio1/radio1_nb_e1s1
    Radio 2
    mms://wmlive-acl.bbc.co.uk/wms/radio2/radio2_nb_e1s1
    Radio 3
    mms://wmlive-acl.bbc.co.uk/wms/radio3/radio3_nb_e1s1
    Radio 4
    mms://wmlive-acl.bbc.co.uk/wms/radio4/radio4_nb_e1s1
    The click on Okay.

    To play, all you have to do is select (double click) the Radio station from your playlist (it'll be below the Cool-Streams listing), and then press play.


    You may wonder where I got the odd looking addresses from, well, if you look at the source of the BBC web pages that allow you select Real Player or Windows Media player, you'll see (way down in the code) that it accesses a second file called (for Radio 2) http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio2/wm_asx/aod/radio2.asx . And if you look in there you'll see a number (four) of addresses. I simply chose the first.

    have fun

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  2. #2
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    Dude!

    Sweet! Cheers for that, I'll be checking that out later. I had been looking for a few more net stations.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    Right well I have the streams added, but it's complaining about
    No suitable input plugin. This often means that the url's protocol is not supported. Network failures are other possible causes.
    Radio 1 mms://wmlive-acl.bbc.co.uk/wms/radio1/radio1_nb_e1s1
    I can play wma and any other formats. I wonder is it the mms slave that's causing trouble. Any ideas?

    I'm using Amarok 1.4.4 on SUSE 10.2 with Packman's xine.

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie ryptyde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tragic City Michigan USA
    Posts
    235
    I tried it and had the same message that bigtomrodney had appear in Amarok so I went to the Real Player site Real_Player_Linux grabbed the rpm and installed it opened Amarok then clicked on the station and hit play and it worked.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1

    Access to bbc7

    For anyone who wants to access BBC7, you can use the URL

    mms://wmlive.bbc.co.uk/wms/bbc7/lo_s1

    Regards,
    -phil

  6. #6

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Hilversum, Netherlands
    Posts
    11
    Hey Hippysurfer thanks for the post. I tried out your links as I kept on getting errors for the stream links above. Yours appear to work but I get no sound - The track timer in Amarok is ticking away as if it's playing something but I don't hear a sound. I'm pretty sure I have every codec under the sun installed. Anyone got any ideas? It's driving me mad as I'm living in the Netherlands and I like listening to radio 4 when ever I feel a bit homesick

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie ryptyde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tragic City Michigan USA
    Posts
    235
    I can also listen to the the links posted by hippysurfer from FF with the MPlayer plug-in for mozilla.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Hilversum, Netherlands
    Posts
    11
    Hooray! I just installed Mandriva 2008 and it works!! I'm not sure why it didn't work in 2007 soring as I did exctlt the same things and have all the same codecs installed. But it works anyway so I'm not complaining.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •