Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I recently downloaded a few tracks that my friend sent me and they are in .wma format. I can't play them, and I was wondering if there is a way ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    kbk
    kbk is offline
    Linux User kbk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    361

    Any way to re-encode music?


    I recently downloaded a few tracks that my friend sent me and they are in .wma format. I can't play them, and I was wondering if there is a way to re-encode it, without putting it on a cd. I can't put it on a cd because my burner is broken, I will have a new one in a couple months but I don't want to wait that long to hear this.. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    I don't believe re-encoding those tracks is such a good idea. You will loose much quality in the process, as the different compression algorithms works quite differently.

    Why not install the proper codecs instead ?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  3. #3
    kbk
    kbk is offline
    Linux User kbk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    361
    Well I thought I had the proper codecs, so I figured re-encoding would be the only way. What codec do I need to play wma?

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    Well I thought I had the proper codecs, so I figured re-encoding would be the only way. What codec do I need to play wma?
    w32codecs binary package. Maybe your files have DRM, if so, you can't play them on Linux
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  5. #5
    kbk
    kbk is offline
    Linux User kbk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    361
    I guess that is it because I have w32codecs. That's a big dissapointment .

  6. #6
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    You will need to replace your xinelib with the Packman libxine-1 to make use of the w32-codecs. Unfortunately the Suse one is crippled.

  7. #7
    kbk
    kbk is offline
    Linux User kbk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    361
    Damn. Will it be fixed in 10.2? I'll still have the music since it's on my HDD.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •