Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
I have two sound devices. One is an onboard NVidia PCI bus device. The second is an USB headset. The problem is that when I boot up with the USB ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2

    Two Sound Devices: PCI and USB. Strange behavior


    I have two sound devices. One is an onboard NVidia PCI bus device. The second is an USB headset.

    The problem is that when I boot up with the USB headset attached, only the USB sound device works and the NVidia PCI device is not recognized.
    Code:
    # cat /proc/asound/cards
     0 [Headset        ]: USB-Audio - Logitech USB Headset
                          Logitech Logitech USB Headset at usb-0000:00:02.0-2, full speed
    If I then run 'alsaconf' the USB device disappears and the NVidia PCI device alone is shown:
    Code:
    # alsaconf
    Terminating processes: 5548.
    Unloading ALSA sound driver modules: snd-intel8x0 snd-ac97-codec snd-ac97-bus snd-usb-audio snd-pcm-oss snd-mixer-oss snd-usb-lib snd-rawmidi snd-pcm snd-seq-device snd-hwdep snd-timer snd-page-alloc.
    Building card database...
    
    Running update-modules...
    Architecture-specific modutils configuration for x86_64 not found, using defaults
    Loading driver...
    Setting default volumes...
    ...
    # cat /proc/asound/cards
     0 [CK804          ]: NFORCE - NVidia CK804
                          NVidia CK804 with ALC850 at 0xf8105000, irq 225
    If I then remove the USB headset and insert it again, both devices will show and work properly:
    Code:
    # cat /proc/asound/cards
     0 [CK804          ]: NFORCE - NVidia CK804
                          NVidia CK804 with ALC850 at 0xf8105000, irq 225
     1 [Headset        ]: USB-Audio - Logitech USB Headset
                          Logitech Logitech USB Headset at usb-0000:00:02.0-2, full speed
    How can I configure the system so that both devices will work from the get go without the need to run alsaconf and remove/reinsert the USB device?

    TIA

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11
    Similar problem with me...

    I have a Gigabyte K8N51GMF-9 with a nForce 430/6100. I am using the 8ch onboard audio and I have a Plantronics DSP-400 USB headset. I haven't found a smart way to switch the output between the two, yet. I mostly use the onboard sound but sometimes, for example, when playing CS in Cedega I want to use the headset.

    I will post if I find something.

    K

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2
    Welcome onboard the discussion.

    Curious, what method do you use to "switch the output between the two"?

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11
    http://www.suseforums.net/lofiversio...hp/t22939.html

    It's not the smartest way to switch between devices but for now it works.

    Enjoy!!!
    Krassi

    PS: If somebody doesn't think of something else. I will write something myself.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •