Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
i have enemy territory on my dessktop for ubuntu.but every time i go to install it it says this no wite permission to /user/local/games/enemy territory so i can't install the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    11

    enemy territory


    i have enemy territory on my dessktop for ubuntu.but every time i go to install it
    it says this no wite permission to /user/local/games/enemy territory
    so i can't install the game.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi Reg1,

    Welcome to the LinuxForums.

    root privileges are required to create anything outside user's home folder. prefix 'sudo' to gain root privileges.
    Code:
    sudo sh install_script





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    11

    enemy territory

    ok but where do i put this .sudo sh install_script to i get my game installed.
    or what i have to do.

    thanks
    Reg1

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    open Terminal and execute this
    Code:
    cd Desktop
    ls
    note down name of file and execute
    Code:
    sudo sh <file_name>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    11

    enemy territory

    oh thankyou very much. i have now the game installed what a relief that is.
    i was at it yesterday on and off but to no avial whatsoever

    thanks

    ip

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    glad to hear that. you are Welcome Reg1.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    11

    enemy territory

    but here i have another problem now see when i type in the ip address for the server i want .i type this 83.170 but see when i type the 170 this jumps behind the 83. bit and i can join my regular server for et.and also i can't see the server on the list whem i click online but this didn't matter before if i seen the server or not
    as in windows i type in the ip address and its straight forward.but dosen't go that way on linux.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •