Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I am a newbie to linux as well as counter strike. I had played counter strike at my friend's home in windows and I loved it to play ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

counter strike on linux - want help on how to install and play?

Hi all, I am a newbie to linux as well as counter strike. I had played counter strike at my friend's home in windows and I loved it to play again. I have some questions regarding that and want your help in it.

Firstly I want to download and install the game. I had tried it but my source starts to search server. But I dont want it as I have slow net connection (56kbps). I want to play the game offline with computer players.

I also got some idea to use Wine or Winex. I had tried it also but I could not succeed due to some error. Please provide me some guidance.

So I want some source and instructions how to install the game on linux which will allow me to play the game with computer players without any server (as like in windows).

Please help me. Your help will be great work for me. Thanks in advance.

Just Joined!
    If you post the error, perhaps it will be easier to help you..
    -Suthern

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by suthern View Post
    If you post the error, perhaps it will be easier to help you..
    -Suthern
    Thanks Suthem for your feedback and showing interest in my problem.

I got error like "Memory Access Violation" using Wine. I have 512mb ram. Eventhough It says like this and while running Wine, the programme installation goes very very slow. Thats why I am not daring to get Counter Strike using Wine.

Can you please provide another way to play counterstrike using linux? I want to play CS with computer bot and dont want to play online game as I have very slow net connection.

hello ajaypatel

firstly comming to point you wan't to play CS with bots.You can get windows version of this game at