Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I'm using 1280x1024 only ..both monitors like it and less options to worry about till i get the config correct Also where would i look for the log for this? ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666

    ATI 9600xt aiw in Dual head and Big desktop...


    I'm using 1280x1024 only ..both monitors like it and less options to worry about till i get the config correct
    Also where would i look for the log for this?

    2. now the problem closer to hell...... when i try to set it up as a big desktop IE: both monitors showing the same desktop the server crashes...fails to start and i get thease errors
    (ww)fglrx: no matching device section for instance (Bus ID PCI :1:0:1) found ....(2nd monitor)
    (EE) fglrx(0): DRIScreen init failed

    fatal server error
    add screen/screen init failed for driver 0

    (Bus ID PCI :1:0:0) monitor 1 screen 0
    (Bus ID PCI :1:0:1) monitor 2 screen1

    Also i do not have or use the DRI drivers unless they are just in there......and i fig that i'm just having a config problem or the wrong mod/driver problem though i have configged every possible way that i could think of in the fglrxconfic....but i dont know where to go from here?

    also i'm not using the agp gart kernel module
    and i am still messing with the 2.4.x kernel ...i'll get to the 2.6.x when i get the cheats in for the ATI drivers to work with the 2.6.x kernel.
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI, USA
    Posts
    21
    ww)fglrx: no matching device section for instance (Bus ID PCI :1:0:1) found ....(2nd monitor)
    (EE) fglrx(0): DRIScreen init failed

    fatal server error
    add screen/screen init failed for driver 0

    (Bus ID PCI :1:0:0) monitor 1 screen 0
    (Bus ID PCI :1:0:1) monitor 2 screen1


    the readme file for the ATI driver must have some dual head option configuration help. i'll assume that you're certain of your XF86.Conf set up in that DRI plays NO part, whatsoever. The fglrx driver must not have been made available to the required module.where is monitor 0? you now have a sceen 0 and a screen 1, you are looking to have only a screen 0, i would think. look very closely at the driver:monitor:screen position numbers in the complaints, do they jive with your intentions? do they make sense?

  3. #3
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    1. this is the other problem that is suposed to be above

    when in dualhead mode i get the 2 monitors up but they have the same content on them and the mouse moves between the monitors but i cant have diffrent content on them......lol
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  4. #4
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    # Each Screen line specifies a Screen section name, and optionally
    # the relative position of other screens. The four names after
    # primary screen name are the screens to the top, bottom, left and right
    # of the primary screen. In this example, screen 2 is located to the
    # right of screen 1.
    So I would make a second screen section that uses the driver for the second head/monitor and set Screen "Screen 2" under the screens section.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  5. #5
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    oops my bad.......
    (Bus ID PCI :1:0:0) monitor 1 screen 0
    (Bus ID PCI :1:0:1) monitor 2 screen1
    i typo'd in the post
    it should be (Bus ID PCI :1:0:0) monitor 0 screen 0
    (Bus ID PCI :1:0:1) monitor 1 screen1
    and here is a link to the config filehttp://iscavision.com/loft306/XF86Config-4
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1

    Same problem

    I'm having the same exact problem as you. I get the mouse to go between the two screens, but the secondary screen is just a copy of the first! Maybe it's something ATI hasn't worked out yet...

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1

    Re: Same problem

    Quote Originally Posted by ryanclem
    I'm having the same exact problem as you. I get the mouse to go between the two screens, but the secondary screen is just a copy of the first! Maybe it's something ATI hasn't worked out yet...
    Wrong...
    I have two monitors, and on each one I have diffrent desktop to deal with... so driver is ok... in this manner at least...

    The point that I figured out, is that KDE (maby Gnome or whatever else also) puts its configuration of screens on top of the xorg or xfree86 configuration. To get rid of it I just disabled this option in display properties. You have to uncheck the "Apply settingson KDE startup" box, and if You have everything set correctly in xorg.conf or xfree86.conf this should give a go. At least It works fine for me.

    for reference I'am giving You my working xorg.conf

    ************************************************** ********************
    # DRI Section
    # ************************************************** ********************
    Section "dri"
    # Access to OpenGL ICD is allowed for all users:
    Mode 0666
    # Access to OpenGL ICD is restricted to a specific user group:
    # Group 100 # users
    # Mode 0660
    EndSection

    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Module section -- this section is used to specify
    # which dynamically loadable modules to load.
    # ************************************************** ********************
    #
    Section "Module"

    Load "dbe"
    # Load "xfree86-dga"
    Load "type1"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "speedo"
    Load "glx"
    Load "dri"

    EndSection

    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Files section. This allows default font and rgb paths to be set
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "Files"
    RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
    FontPath "/usr/local/share/fonts"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts"
    EndSection

    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Input devices
    # ************************************************** ********************

    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Core keyboard's InputDevice section
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "InputDevice"

    Identifier "Keyboard1"
    Driver "Keyboard"

    EndSection


    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Core Pointer's InputDevice section
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "InputDevice"

    Identifier "Mouse1"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
    Option "Zaxismapping" "4 5"

    EndSection


    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Monitor section
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "My Monitor 0"
    HorizSync 31.5 - 68.7
    VertRefresh 60-100
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "My Monitor 1"
    HorizSync 31.5 - 48.4
    VertRefresh 60-85
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection

    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Graphics device section
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "ATI Graphics Adapter"
    Driver "fglrx"
    # ### generic DRI settings ###
    # === disable PnP Monitor ===
    #Option "NoDDC"
    # === disable/enable XAA/DRI ===
    Option "no_accel" "no"
    Option "no_dri" "no"
    # === misc DRI settings ===
    Option "mtrr" "off" # disable DRI mtrr mapper, driver has its own code for mtrr
    # ### FireGL DDX driver module specific settings ###
    # === Screen Management ===
    Option "DesktopSetup" "0x00000000"
    Option "MonitorLayout" "CRT, CRT"
    Option "IgnoreEDID" "off"
    Option "HSync2" "31.5 - 48.4"
    Option "VRefresh2" "60 - 85"
    Option "ScreenOverlap" "0"
    # === TV-out Management ===
    Option "NoTV" "yes"
    Option "TVStandard" "PAL-G"
    Option "TVHSizeAdj" "0"
    Option "TVVSizeAdj" "0"
    Option "TVHPosAdj" "0"
    Option "TVVPosAdj" "0"
    Option "TVHStartAdj" "0"
    Option "TVColorAdj" "0"
    Option "GammaCorrectionI" "0x00000000"
    Option "GammaCorrectionII" "0x00000000"
    # === OpenGL specific profiles/settings ===
    Option "Capabilities" "0x00000000"
    # === Video Overlay for the Xv extension ===
    Option "VideoOverlay" "on"
    # === OpenGL Overlay ===
    # Note: When OpenGL Overlay is enabled, Video Overlay
    # will be disabled automatically
    Option "OpenGLOverlay" "off"
    # === Center Mode (Laptops only) ===
    Option "CenterMode" "off"
    # === Pseudo Color Visuals (8-bit visuals) ===
    Option "PseudoColorVisuals" "off"
    # === QBS Management ===
    Option "Stereo" "off"
    Option "StereoSyncEnable" "1"
    # === FSAA Management ===
    Option "FSAAEnable" "no"
    Option "FSAAScale" "1"
    Option "FSAADisableGamma" "no"
    Option "FSAACustomizeMSPos" "no"
    Option "FSAAMSPosX0" "0.000000"
    Option "FSAAMSPosY0" "0.000000"
    Option "FSAAMSPosX1" "0.000000"
    Option "FSAAMSPosY1" "0.000000"
    Option "FSAAMSPosX2" "0.000000"
    Option "FSAAMSPosY2" "0.000000"
    Option "FSAAMSPosX3" "0.000000"
    Option "FSAAMSPosY3" "0.000000"
    Option "FSAAMSPosX4" "0.000000"
    Option "FSAAMSPosY4" "0.000000"
    Option "FSAAMSPosX5" "0.000000"
    Option "FSAAMSPosY5" "0.000000"
    # === Misc Options ===
    Option "UseFastTLS" "0"
    Option "BlockSignalsOnLock" "on"
    Option "UseInternalAGPGART" "yes"
    Option "ForceGenericCPU" "no"
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0" # vendor=1002, device=496e
    Screen 0
    EndSection


    Section "Device"
    Identifier "ATI Graphics Adapter connector 1"
    Driver "fglrx"
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0" # vendor=1002, device=496e
    Screen 1
    EndSection

    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Screen sections
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen 0"
    Device "ATI Graphics Adapter"
    Monitor "My Monitor 0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    #Option "backingstore"

    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    ViewPort 0 0 # initial origin if mode is smaller than desktop
    # Virtual 1280 1024
    EndSubsection
    EndSection


    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen 1"
    Device "ATI Graphics Adapter connector 1"
    Monitor "My Monitor 1"
    DefaultDepth 24
    #Option "backingstore"

    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    ViewPort 0 0 # initial origin if mode is smaller than desktop
    # Virtual 1280 1024
    EndSubsection
    EndSection

    # ************************************************** ********************
    # ServerLayout sections.
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "ServerLayout"

    Identifier "Server Layout"
    Screen "Screen 0"
    Screen "Screen 1" Rightof "Screen 0"
    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"

    EndSection


    Keep in mind that DVI is always prinamy screen, so if You have one monitor conected to normal monitor output and the other to DVI by converter, then that second one will be always detected as primary screen.
    And also in my computer driver detected badly BusID. It says PCI 1:0:1 but this causes errors becouse card is on 1:0:0 so try to change that also, maby this will help with some problems.

    AFAIK config about diffrent driver modes is stored in this line:
    Option "DesktopSetup" "0x00000000"
    all in null's means that it's dualhead, with 200 on the end it's clone and with 201 it's big desctop. I am lazy and will not check this last two, but it's this or opposite way. Ofcourse changeing this line must follow chacges in screen and layout sections.
    I hope this'll help someone

    On the other hand.... I have diffrent problem..
    Becouse I have primary display 17" and secondary 15" so on first i have 1024x768@85Hz but on second I can't do 85 Hz on that resolution so it gives me 60 Hz...
    But problem is that when I am trying to set resolution of 800x600 on second monitor in KDE, then I get clone screen on both.
    Seems to me, that maby driver doesn't suppert diffrent resolutions on diffrent screens in dualhead configuration.
    I know that I can type some refresh rates in config at resolution, but don't have time to find out how.. Maby someone could help me with that?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •