Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
hi there , i want to install Gentoo on my Ps3 ( to be said that i'm a total NOOB concerning Linux ) ... i've folowed this tutorial to the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Need Help GENTOO INSTALLATION !

hi there , i want to install Gentoo on my Ps3 ( to be said that i'm a total NOOB concerning Linux ) ...
    i've folowed this tutorial to the part that it says "Live ~# : WGET http://gentoo.osuosl.org/experimental..." that's where i get an error saying " Cannot resolve name ... " or something like that ...
    i've enabled the DHCP on my ADSL modem , and noticed that during the Booting , ( the Page with lots of "OK" going down ) it says OBTAINED IP ... but it doesnot ping the ModemsIP or any website ...

so what i need help for is , is there a way to setup manually an Ip address for my Wired Connection on the Ps3 , Subnet mask , and a Default gateway , so that it might download the needed file. ( is there a way to do that )

i've downloaded the file to my Pc , cause it says ( on the Tutorial ) : " if you do have a slow internet connection try downloading it before the installation then copying it .... " but how can i do that ? from where ? using FlashUSB ? Memstick ? to where ? ( my Memstick and FlashUSB are Fat32 , how are they going to be recognized under Linux ) ?

Thanks in advance .

Check your /etc/resolv.conf file, it should have a nameserver line similar to this.
    more /etc/resolv.conf
    # Generated by dhcpcd for interface ath0
    search Belkin
    nameserver 192.168.2.1
    i've downloaded the file to my Pc , cause it says ( on the Tutorial ) : " if you do have a slow internet connection try downloading it before the installation then copying it .... " but how can i do that ? from where ? using FlashUSB ? Memstick ? to where ? ( my Memstick and FlashUSB are Fat32 , how are they going to be recognized under Linux ) ?