Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello! For somewhat related reasons I won't be able to read and respond to this thread as I usually do, but my dad has somehow screwed things up around here. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Newbie

stupid firewall

Hello! For somewhat related reasons I won't be able to read and respond to this thread as I usually do, but my dad has somehow screwed things up around here. For the longest, we've "had a firewall" up with out network stuff, all of which I leave to him to mess with, mainly 'cause he's "boss." Until I start paying for internet, it doesn't seem like I'll be able to convience him to just shut it off again, but the other day he was messing with some things and all of the sudden (in the middle of what I think was installing the package handler --I'm new to Sabayon and Gentoo, so I really don't know...) everything ran into a bri...I mean, a firewall. Hypothetically he'll be fixing this but I would like to know what ports he'd need to open for decent functionality of Sabayon (the latest stable release, 3.4a or something like that, I think). Please and thanks to all that can help.

You shouldn't need to open/forward any ports for just basic web functionality, for any OS. I suspect that dad has just goofed/overlooked something trivial.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Linux Newbie
    I suspect the same, but try conviencing him of that....