Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
hi i just installed this the other day onto my compaq laptop using the text installation method(it wouldn't let me do the graphical or livecd O_o).when the installation was finally ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Sabayon 3.4e login problem

hi i just installed this the other day onto my compaq laptop using the text installation method(it wouldn't let me do the graphical or livecd O_o).when the installation was finally complete and the computer rebooted it brings me automatically to the black screen terminal instead of giving me my login screen. i've logged into my account via the terminal and tried startx and kdm. nothing seems to happen. have a solution? i'm guessing it might be a graphics driver problem. i am new to all of this. @_@

oz
    forum.guy
    I don't know that this will work, but you could try booting the Sabayon LiveCD (GUI version), then copy and paste the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file that we know works into your Sabayon hard drive installation. This is assuming that the graphical version will at least allow you to boot it on your machine.
    oz

oz
    forum.guy
    You could also try running xorgconfig as root to see if building a new xorg.conf file helps. I also just noticed that Sabayon 3.4f was released earlier today in case you want to try it.
    oz

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by ozar View Post
    I don't know that this will work, but you could try booting the Sabayon LiveCD (GUI version), then copy and paste the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file that we know works into your Sabayon hard drive installation. This is assuming that the graphical version will at least allow you to boot it on your machine.
    it wont even allow me to boot the live cd.as far as i can get to gui is the boot screen.