Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
That card is very easy to configure. Just do on the livecd sudo su - modprobe bcm43xx net-setup ethx Should be good to go, unless it is pci-e....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242

    That card is very easy to configure.
    Just do on the livecd
    sudo su -
    modprobe bcm43xx
    net-setup ethx

    Should be good to go, unless it is pci-e.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  2. #12
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    And, you may guess
    It is a PCI-e..
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  3. #13
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Pci-e, what a bummer, it looks like ndiswrapper is the way to go.
    Which I personally have not had much luck with.
    But, Sabayon and Mepis are able to configure that card correctly, but both are what I would consider to be bloated distros.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  4. #14
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7 View Post
    Pci-e, what a bummer, it looks like ndiswrapper is the way to go.
    Which I personally have not had much luck with.
    But, Sabayon and Mepis are able to configure that card correctly, but both are what I would consider to be bloated distros.
    I agree Sabayon and Mepis are somewhat bloated, you can remove anything you don't like, once you get it installed.

    Can you tell me why PCI- e doesn't work, or whatever, it's not that I don't agree, but I just haven't heard of this. Does it apply too all PCI -e Devices or just "bcm43xx"? It would explain why I have failed numerous times to help people getting their Wireless configured.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  5. #15
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Well, I am not planning to install a Distro and then remove junk.. :o
    I prefer to buy a new WiFi card then. But anywho, does either of you know a LiveCD that has lspci? since then I can check my card again and give more info
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  6. #16
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by RobinVossen View Post
    Well, I am not planning to install a Distro and then remove junk.. :o
    I prefer to buy a new WiFi card then. But anywho, does either of you know a LiveCD that has lspci? since then I can check my card again and give more info
    As far as I know, all LiveCD's have the "lspci" command built-in, even the Gentoo 2007 LiveCD. Did you try using the path, like this:
    /sbin/lspci
    For Gentoo it would be:
    /usr/sbin/lspci
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  7. #17
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Thanks for the help.
    But this is changing into Wifi Help.
    Ill ask for that later on. Thanks tough.
    I figured out how to install w/o inet.
    Thanks.
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  8. #18
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Well, I figured out.
    Doesnt work..
    It doesnt work.. I need to install Gentoo so Badly.
    So, well I need to install Gentoo without inet.
    And then afterwards I install everything and Wireless.
    But well a Basic Linux System (Gentoo) first and then a Wifi Connection. But Its not important now. Just a Gentoo install without Inet.
    The LiveCD stops. And the Knoppix-Install doesnt work.

    I hope that somebody can help me..
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  9. #19
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    What happens with the knoppix-install?

    On a side note, when I tried to install Gentoo to my AMD64 laptop using the 64-bit stage 3 tarball, it failed twice at copying files.
    The same file I mentioned earlier.
    I was reading on the Gentoo forums about the 2007.0 installer and a bunch of people were saying that it was buggy.
    Gentoo Forums :: View topic - Gentoo 2007.0 GUI Installer is buggy
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  10. #20
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Well to be honest I didnt try the Knoppix Install since the Guide says x86_64 Only so..

    But Ill try that then.
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •