Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
I am a redhat user who is trying to install gentoo. I had heard it was difficult and now i believe them. Well i get to the point where i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    3

    env-update/emerge error


    I am a redhat user who is trying to install gentoo. I had heard it was difficult and now i believe them. Well i get to the point where i chroot and then i am supposed to update the environment well the installer tells me there is no such command (env-update) does anyone know why this is. Any help would bne much appreciated.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    Check that you've chrooted as per the manual?

    # chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
    # env-update
    Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
    # source /etc/profile

    If no joy there then it's probable you've missed a step along the way.

    It took me about 5 attempts before I got a useable Gentoo installation. Each time I messed soemthing up. Then on the 6th attempt I got it working just the way I wanted it.

    Stick with it. Tis worth it.
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  3. #3
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    Are you shure that you are chroot'd?
    did you do this first
    Code:
    chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
    befor you tried to do the
    Code:
     env-update && source /etc/profile
    and if you did do that then you probably missed a command along the way.
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  4. #4
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    If the env-update isn't working (after you know that you chrooted properly), then you improperly untarred the stage tarball. Scroll back up in the manual and do it again!
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    3
    Thankyou i will try again today. I guess i probably missed a step.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    33
    after you have done
    Code:
    chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
    the error is no such command, shell was unable to find this command in PATH, partition may not be mounted
    check your mount points


    Code:
    jinn root # mount
    /dev/hda3 on / type ext3 (rw)
    none on /dev type devfs (rw)
    none on /proc type proc (rw)
    none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
    /dev/hda1 on /boot type ext3 (rw)
    /dev/hda5 on /usr type ext3 (rw)
    /dev/hda6 on /var type ext3 (rw)
    /dev/hda7 on /tmp type ext3 (rw)
    /dev/hda8 on /data type ext3 (rw)
    none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
    none on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
    whether you get all the mount points

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Port Angeles, WA
    Posts
    119
    I have followed the instructions exactly, or so I thought, but when I get to the point where I use the following command:

    chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash

    I get an error saying illegal instruction. What have I missed?


    EDIT: I forgot to add. I am doing the stage 3 install.

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Port Angeles, WA
    Posts
    119
    Any ideas or should I just do the entire thing over again?

  9. #9
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    You probably missed a step, which one who knows.
    If you redo it enough times like I have, it doesn't seem so bad after a a few attempts. That is if you have a good proc and a lot of memory.

    If you don't have those things, after each step, youshould read ahead in the manual, and make sure you get the next step right. Being very careful to make sure you get the commands right.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  10. #10
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Quote Originally Posted by Hotwheelz
    I have followed the instructions exactly, or so I thought, but when I get to the point where I use the following command:

    chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash

    I get an error saying illegal instruction. What have I missed?


    EDIT: I forgot to add. I am doing the stage 3 install.
    What CPU are you running? What liveCD and tarball (stage...full filename) did you use?
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •