Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 45
Originally Posted by MikeTbob Looks good to me, give it a whirl and see how it does. Okay I think it was a wrong setup!!! When I installed the grub ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #31
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    28

    Question


    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    Looks good to me, give it a whirl and see how it does.
    Okay I think it was a wrong setup!!!

    When I installed the grub in the MBR as:
    # grep -v rootfs /proc/mounts > /etc/mtab
    # grub-install --no-floppy /dev/sda

    Then starting the Grub:

    # grub --no-floppy

    grub> root (hd0,1)
    grub>setup (hd0,0)

    I took the cd out of the cdrom drive and reboot the system as instructed by the handbook, during the reboot the screen was black for about 10 sec's and no splashscreen was showin, also during the reboot it started run gentoo with gibberish and lines horizontally upto to login of gentoo. Now I was never given the option to choose between windows or gentoo. What is wrong? And is it Fixable?

  2. #32
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    You said XP is on sda1
    That = (hd0,0)

    And the correct command will be
    [code]setup (hd0)
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #33
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    28

    Exclamation Finalizing the Install!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by budman7 View Post
    You said XP is on sda1
    That = (hd0,0)

    And the correct command will be
    [code]setup (hd0)


    I just want to say thanks to everyone: MikeTBob and Budman7 for there help!!! I figured out the problem that was causing the "Error 15" message. It was caused by "typo" in the /boot/grub/grub.conf and due to the fact that when I renamed the "kernel" to "tranformer", I forgot to add the "s" in "transformer". So, thinking that the name was transformer, I input into the grub.conf file thus giving me the error message. So, Thank you all !!!


    However, I am finalizing the install and I was wondering what else needs to be configured I thought. So, I was wondering if this gnumeric software needs to be included, I'm not sure but, it sure is a big file to install if this software is not necessary, I would like to remove it, and also would like to setup my desktop with a gui, Any suggestions would be great however, I am looking for performance wise that will not lag the box down, as well multimedia viewing such as streaming media and music, movies would be of great advice. Thanks.

  4. #34
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    28

    Question Creative Labs Audigy 2 Value card SB0400

    Hey everyone....I am having trouble locating the drivers and application to install onto gentoo. I am installing the sound card "Creative Labs Audigy 2" model SB0400" This is the first time installing this so bare with. okay.

  5. #35
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    See this page.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  6. #36
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    28

    Question Permission Denied using hal.

    hey everyone....I am having troubl accessing the my liteon-dvdrw drive. When I click on the dvd icon it says "feature only available with HAL". now I have emerged Hal, so it should work now, right!. well it did not work. I dont now what's up but Here is my fstab:


    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
    # needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
    # efficiency). It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
    # switch between notail / tail freely.
    #
    # The root filesystem should have a pass number of either 0 or 1.
    # All other filesystems should have a pass number of 0 or greater than 1.
    #
    # See the manpage fstab(5) for more information.
    #

    # <fs> <mountpoint> <type> <opts> <dump/pass>

    # NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.


    /dev/Home / ext3 noatime 0 1
    /dev/sda3 none swap sw 0 0
    /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom udf,iso9660 auto,user,rw 0 0
    /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto auto 0 0





    #Window Partition
    /dev/sdb1 /mnt/windows ntfs-3g default 0 0



    # glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
    # POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
    # (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
    # use almost no memory if not populated with files)
    shm /dev/shm tmpfs nodev,nosuid,noexec 0 0

  7. #37
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Check this Link
    HOWTO D-BUS, HAL, KDE media:/ - Gentoo Linux Wiki
    You may just need to start HAL: /etc/init.d/hald start
    Then add it to the Runlevel : rc-update add hald default
    Or you could mount it with the command line, as always.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  8. #38
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    28

    Exclamation Emerge problem cant install xorg-x11 and nvidia etc...

    alright, now i am busting my head around trying to find out why i keep getting these Error messages every time i try to install a package or driver.

    Error: X11-misc/shared-mim-info-0.22 failed.
    Call stack:
    ebuild.sh, line 1701: Called dyn_compile
    ebuild.sh, line 1039: Called qa_call 'src_compilte'
    ebuild.sh, line 44: Called src_compile
    shared-mime-info-0.22.ebuild, line 25: Called die
    The specific snippet of code:
    emake::die"emake failed"
    The die message:
    emake Failed.

    If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
    A complete build log is located '/var/tmp/portage/x11-misc/shared-mime-info-0.22/temp/build.log

    GNU info directory index is up-to-date.


    Now for some reason this happens every time i emerge nvidia-drivers and xorg-x11, I do not know what this means, can someone here help with this.

    thank you for your support.

  9. #39
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    You need to post more info from the error report above, not the whole output, but about 20-30 lines before the output you posted, you didn't get the actual error msg.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  10. #40
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    28

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    You need to post more info from the error report above, not the whole output, but about 20-30 lines before the output you posted, you didn't get the actual error msg.

    I have been trying to access the "build.log" and I don't know how and among other things using wgetpaste to provide that bit of information for you.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •