Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am very new to linux and have been using Fedora Core 2 for a few months...I like Fedora Core but you can read the following review & I feel ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

switch from Fedora 2 to Gentoo?

I am very new to linux and have been using Fedora Core 2 for a few months...I like Fedora Core but you can read the following review & I feel the same exact same way...

I didn't care for this release. Fedora just isn't for me. I appreciate the work that the volunteers put into it, and I think they have put together a nice system. There is just too much that doesn't make sense to me. If I am going for ease of use, why do I have to work to get basic programs installed? If you are going to hold my hand, hold it the entire time. If you are giving me a crippled system for patent and licensing reasons, tell my why and how to easily get around it. Ultimately, it is a shame that a distribution is done so well, but lacking in basic functionality. Fedora should decide who they are aiming their distribution at. If it is novice users, then focus on them and their needs. If they want veteran users, take some of the hand holding away. I can easily install the programs I have complained about being missing. The point of Fedora, I thought, was that I could just use it and not have to think about those things. If I am compiling programs, why not just run Slackware? If I want easy package management with some configuration, why not learn Arch? If I want an easy distro with all of my multimedia needs taken care of, why not run Mandrake. I guess the bottom line for me is: Why should I run Fedora? The new release doesn't answer that question.

How drastic is a change to Gentoo Linux from Fedora being a newb? I like Gentoo from what I read and Slackware seems to complex for me...just wondered what you guys thought...

Linux Engineer