Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
This WIFI card is giving problems, I have got it to a point with help, because I have not got a clue about Linux as I am a newbie, but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Berkshire
    Posts
    3

    Question Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5212 802.11abg NIC


    This WIFI card is giving problems, I have got it to a point with help, because I have not got a clue about Linux as I am a newbie, but I am now stuck. I did lspci and that is where I got the subject from. When I do dmesg there is an error unable to load needed module ath_rate_sample (these commands were put in by my friend). iwconfig gives a negative result for wireless being present What do I need to do now. I have madwifi loaded and wpa-suplicant.

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,628
    In Linux, Atheros chipsets need madwifi drivers. See this page on how to get them into your installation.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Berkshire
    Posts
    3
    Thanks for the reply

    I have madwifi already installed as well as wpa supplicant

  4. #4
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,628
    In my haste, I didn't see that last sentence, sorry. So if madwifi IS installed, the question is, is the module getting loaded.... From the command line as su, do:
    Code:
    modprobe ath_pci
    Then, do:
    Code:
    iwconfig
    ...and see if you see ath0 there.

    I haven't used Gentoo in a while so the actual commands may be:
    Code:
    /sbin/modprobe ath_pci
    and,
    Code:
    /sbin/iwconfig
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Berkshire
    Posts
    3
    Cheers for the feed back

    Yep there is an ath0 we have managed to get madwifi to load and the card is recognised and is in the network part of the control centre now. WPA_Suplicant's back end is working, we had a command window open and watched the essids scroll through but it's WPA_GUI does not work it says 'Could not get status from wpa_supplicant' on the status line.

    Cheers

  6. #6
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,628
    This is for Arch but may prove helpful.

    Link


    Also, have a look at this...

    Link
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •