Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
guys i am new in linux,now i am useing ubuntu but i wryly like gentoo.in my old system workt but in new one i get this message Failed to start ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Failed to start X Server

guys i am new in linux,now i am useing ubuntu but i wryly like gentoo.in my old system workt but in new one i get this message Failed to start the X server,i try whit live dvd x86,whit x64,whit minimal installation cd this one i don't know.
    this is my pc hardware:motherboard- ASUS M2N-E,proc-AMD Athlon64 X2 6400+ AM2 WOF,video-Forsa NVIDIA 8500 gt 512M,ram-2048 MB,hdd-1*250GB and daewoo 17'' modelHL 711S,mouse genius navigator 535 and keyboard microsoft model RT2300.i try whit live dvdx64(after the x server failed to start) to xorgconfig but no success,after that i did the settings for internet and i tried ''installer'' i start to download stage 3 but again error to 80%.what else can i do.please guys,thanx anticipate

I've been struggling to install Gentoo myself over the past week or so ...
    I tried the minimal and live CD of both x86 and 64 bit. The installer has failed in almost every instance ... but then I think thats a bit of a cheat anyway.

I have managed to get the x86 version to run KDE and I think I got OpenOffice to emerge but it took a few goes. I am still struggling with the 64 bit version.

I found I had more success when I did not create a separate boot partition - its not needed anyway. Things seem to go a bit pear shaped when I tried installing to a SATA disk at sda11 or so as well.

The quick guide for x86 seemed to work OK which you can get from the Gentoo website under installation docs. I actually ended up pasting from the installation docs into shell scripts and runnings them because I was convinced I mis-typed something.