Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
I just finished installing...kinda, this is my second attempt ever, first attempt on my laptop. Anyway, I should say that I finished going through the install handbook up to the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    20

    Post install error, superblock cant be read


    I just finished installing...kinda, this is my second attempt ever, first attempt on my laptop. Anyway, I should say that I finished going through the install handbook up to the part where it tells you to reboot, this is what happens
    Code:
    *Checking root filesystem ...
    fsck.ext: No such file or directory while trying to open /dev/sda6
    /dev/sda6:
    The superblock could not be read or does not describe a correct ext2
    filesystem.  If the device is valid and it really contains an ext2
    filesystem (and not swap or ufs or something else), then the superblock
    is corrupt, and you might try running e2fsck with an alternate superblock:
         e2fsck -b 8193 <device>
     * Filesystem couldn't be fixed :(
    Give root password for maintenance
    or type control-d to continue):
    I dont really know what to do.
    Any help is really appreciated.

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast gruven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    541
    It looks to me like your partition (/dev/sda6) is corrupted, or isn't the correct partition. Please post your /etc/fstab file and your file layout.

    I am very proud of you for using the handbook though, and will help you out in any way I can.

    Linux User #376741
    Code is Poetry

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    20
    thanks

    /etc/fstab
    Code:
    /dev/sda3               /boot           ext2            noauto,noatime        1 2
    /dev/sda6               /               ext3            noatime               0 1
    /dev/sda5               none            swap            sw                    0 0
    /dev/cdroms/cdrom       /mnt/cdrom      auto            noauto,ro             0 0
    proc                    /proc           proc            defaults              0 0
    shm                     /dev/shm        tmpfs           nodev,nosuid,noexec   0 0
    sda1 is the dell recovery partition
    sda2 is windows
    sda3 is boot
    sda4 is extended partition
    sda5 is swap
    sda6 is root

  4. #4
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    It would be really helpful if you could also post the output of
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    That's a lowercase L
    And
    Code:
    cat /boot/grub/grub.conf
    Just to be sure we aren't giving you some bad advice.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    20
    fdisk -l
    Code:
    Disk /dev/hda: 100.0 GB, 100030242816 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 12161 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot    Start          End       Blocks    Id  System
    /dev/hda1               1           12        96358+   de  Dell Utility
    /dev/hda2   *          13         3339     26724127+    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/hda3   *        3340         3344        40162+   83  Linux
    /dev/hda4            3345        12161     70822552+    5  Extended
    /dev/hda5            3345         3843      4008186    83  Linux
    /dev/hda6            3844        12161     66814303+   83  Linux
    and cat /boot/grub/grub.conf gives me a no such file or directory error

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast gruven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    541
    First, you need to change the swap partition type from 83 to 82 (linux swap) and then do a "mkswap" on that partition from the livecd.

    To get the output of "cat /boot/grub/grub.conf", you will first have to mount your /boot partition.
    Code:
    mount /boot
    then do the command.

    Just to make sure, but you did create filesystems before you did the install, right?
    mke2fs -j for your ext3 partitions and mke2fs for your ext2 partitions.

    Linux User #376741
    Code is Poetry

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    20
    Thanks, I changed the swap partition to 82 and I also did what someone else recommended, which was changing from sdaX to hdaX in my fstab, and that fixed it(i dunno why tho). I booted up to a login and finished up by adding a user and removing the tarballs, but I did get some modules that failed to load when I booted up.

  8. #8
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Awesome, I didn't even see that the names in fstab were wrong. Now on to the next part of the Gentoo install guide.
    Which modules failed?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    20
    Code:
    *    Loading module processor ...
    *    Failed to load processor
    *    Loading module thermal ...
    *    Failed to load thermal
    *    Loading module video ...
    *    Failed to load video
    *    Loading module speedstep-centrino ...
    *    Failed to load speedstep-centrino
    and here is the slight backstory that I think may be responsible for this
    I was following this guide
    HARDWARE Dell Latitude D820 - Gentoo Linux Wiki
    and when I got to the kernel configuration part, I found that I couldn't locate a couple of the things that it told me to include, and I just kinda assumed that its because the guide was made a while back or something. Was this a stupid assumption...did I skip things?

  10. #10
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    I would go back and remove those modules that fail from /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
    I think you should be ok, if you just follow the standard Gentoo install guide, then if you need to, come back to this Dell Latitude Wiki for the Wireless card and whatnot.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •