Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 27 of 27
Originally Posted by sosoy77 what do you mean ? Code: mount should report something like ... Code: jonathan@localhost ~ $ mount /dev/sda6 on / type ext3 (rw,noatime) proc on /proc ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,042

    Quote Originally Posted by sosoy77 View Post
    what do you mean ?
    Code:
    mount
    should report something like ...
    Code:
    jonathan@localhost ~ $ mount
    /dev/sda6 on / type ext3 (rw,noatime)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec)
    udev on /dev type tmpfs (rw,nosuid)
    devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,nosuid,noexec)
    shm on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
    usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,devmode=0664,devgid=85)
    But this is for an installed version.

  2. #22
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    39
    ok,what should i do now whit my knoppix and gentoo installation.any ideas

  3. #23
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    39
    ok i got it:
    root@Knoppix:/mnt/gentoo# mount
    /dev/root on / type ext2 (rw)
    /ramdisk on /ramdisk type tmpfs (rw,size=2904312k,mode=755)
    /UNIONFS on /UNIONFS type aufs (rw,br:/ramdisk:/KNOPPIX:/KNOPPIX2)
    /dev/hdb on /cdrom type iso9660 (ro)
    /dev/cloop on /KNOPPIX type iso9660 (ro)
    /dev/cloop2 on /KNOPPIX2 type iso9660 (ro)
    /proc/bus/usb on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,devmode=0666)
    /dev/pts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
    /dev/sda3 on /mnt/gentoo type jfs (rw)
    /dev/sda1 on /mnt/gentoo/boot type jfs (rw)
    /dev on /mnt/gentoo/dev type none (rw,bind)
    /dev on /mnt/gentoo/dev type none (rw,bind)
    /dev on /mnt/gentoo/dev type none (rw,bind)
    none on /mnt/gentoo/proc type proc (rw)
    /dev on /mnt/gentoo/dev type none (rw,bind)

  4. #24
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,042
    I don't know if the jfs rather than ext3 will cause problems or not - the manual is based on ext3. You look to have been much closer to getting a working installation with post 1 ! If it were me I'd do a fresh install and double check you type everything correctly ... you need to make sure the network is going to work after the reboot otherwise you are going to end up having to re mount drives and chroot ing again, and trying to pick up part way through the process again.

  5. #25
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    39
    ok i found the problem knoppix is the X86 and i trying to install amd64 i guess this is the problem.now i will try whit ubuntu amd64

  6. #26
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    You can install X86 on amd64 machines easily. Its not that problem.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #27
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Córdoba (Spain)
    Posts
    1,513
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    You can install X86 on amd64 machines easily. Its not that problem.
    It is if he is trying to chroot from a 32 bits kernel (knoppix/x86) into an x86_64 environment (gentoo/amd64).

    Hence the exec format errors when trying to chroot.

    You need to boot from a 64 bits kernel to be able to chroot into a 64 bits gentoo.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •