Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi! I have another pc with getnoo installed. I remember I asked a friend to install it for me a very long time a go but never used it but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Can't log on

Hi!

I have another pc with getnoo installed. I remember I asked a friend to install it for me a very long time a go but never used it but now, when I finally have a use for the computer I can't access it - neither me or my friend remember the password so I pretty much don't know what to do.
    If there's no way to bypass the password is there a way to reinstall linux? (If yes, is it possible to do it by using a flash drive to transfer the installer as my pc doesn't have a cd writer :P)

Oh, and one more question - how can I access visual mode on gentoo.. or any other linux version ? :S

Thanks, I'm a complete beginner to linux :P

You can check here for how to reset root password. If you can't reset root password, then possible solutions would be booting from a flash disc, get a disc burned by a friend of yours, or order a distro. Or you could possibly do a netboot.
    how can I access visual mode on gentoo..
    what do you mean?
    Linux is like a Teepee, No Windows, No Gates, Only Apache Inside!
    Arch Linux
    Linux user #442041

Linux Guru
    Quote Originally Posted by friiks View Post
    Hi!

I have another pc with getnoo installed. I remember I asked a friend to install it for me a very long time a go but never used it but now, when I finally have a use for the computer I can't access it - neither me or my friend remember the password so I pretty much don't know what to do.
    If there's no way to bypass the password is there a way to reinstall linux? (If yes, is it possible to do it by using a flash drive to transfer the installer as my pc doesn't have a cd writer :P)