Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
So it seems KDE is just broken my internet is set up, its not my connection i run emerge kde-meta (though ive tried other ones too) to get kde it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    6

    KDE help!!!


    So
    it seems KDE is just broken
    my internet is set up, its not my connection
    i run emerge kde-meta (though ive tried other ones too) to get kde
    it attempts to connect to
    xorg.freedesktop.org/releases/individual/data/util-macros-1.1.5.tar.bz2
    to get the file
    util-macros-1.1.5.tar.bz2
    most unfortunately, i found out, by going to the website, that its not under data, but under util instead:
    xorg.freedesktop.org/releases/individual/util/util-macros-1.1.5.tar.bz2
    emerge is being plain retarded and doesnt get it: error error error blah blah blah 404 not found
    =(
    is there any way to edit the link for this (btw xorg crashes on this too!)?
    thanks
    any help appreciated

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie sdimhoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    191
    Manually download the file into

    /usr/portage/distfiles

    Then try to emerge just-that-package

    Hopefully that works. If this approach does not work then maybe you could switch package mirrors and see if it is just a problem with that particular mirror's tree. (If this is happening to many packages you should file a bug report or at least hit up the gentoo forums where more of the devs may be listening. You should probably send a report to that mirror maintainer if you figure out that is the cause.)
    Linux since: 2001
    Gentoo since: 2004
    - - - - - - - -
    Translation:
    I fix things until they break.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Córdoba (Spain)
    Posts
    1,513
    Quote Originally Posted by OiOliverOi View Post
    So
    it seems KDE is just broken
    my internet is set up, its not my connection
    i run emerge kde-meta (though ive tried other ones too) to get kde
    it attempts to connect to
    xorg.freedesktop.org/releases/individual/data/util-macros-1.1.5.tar.bz2
    to get the file
    util-macros-1.1.5.tar.bz2
    most unfortunately, i found out, by going to the website, that its not under data, but under util instead:
    xorg.freedesktop.org/releases/individual/util/util-macros-1.1.5.tar.bz2
    emerge is being plain retarded and doesnt get it: error error error blah blah blah 404 not found
    =(
    is there any way to edit the link for this (btw xorg crashes on this too!)?
    thanks
    any help appreciated
    You can change the mirror in your /etc/make.conf, like this:

    Code:
    GENTOO_MIRRORS="
           http://ftp.udc.es/gentoo/
           ftp://ftp.caliu.info/gentoo/
           http://ftp.caliu.info/gentoo/
           ftp://ftp.udc.es/gentoo/"
    Of course, you should pick the ones you preffer, you have a list here:

    Gentoo Linux -- Gentoo Linux Mirrors

    You can also emerge mirrorselect and use that instead.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    6
    Thanks for all the help
    using i92guboj's suggestion, i managed to get a bit farther
    however, whichever mirror i choose asks me to manually download a file that it apparently cannot get.

    Whats the download console command?
    thanks

  6. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Córdoba (Spain)
    Posts
    1,513
    Quote Originally Posted by OiOliverOi View Post
    Thanks for all the help
    using i92guboj's suggestion, i managed to get a bit farther
    however, whichever mirror i choose asks me to manually download a file that it apparently cannot get.

    Whats the download console command?
    thanks
    You can use wget. Note that there are some packages that cannot be downloaded this way, because of licensing issues and stuff like that. In some cases you have to go the site where the package belongs, accept some license or register yourself using some form, and then download the file and save it to $DISTDIR.

    I don't know if that's the case, though.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    6
    Thank you!
    However, i am now getting new beautiful errors (when running emerge kdebase-startkde):

    ERROR: x11-libs/libXpm-3.5.7 failed

    Call Stack:
    ebuild.sh, line 49: Called src_compile
    enviroment, line 2871: Called xrmodular_src_compile
    enviroment, line 3606: Called x-modular_src_make
    enviroment, line 3640: Called die

    The specific snippet of code:
    emake :: die "emake failed"
    The die message:
    emake failed

    Anybody have any clue what its talking about?
    This appears on about 12 out of 64......

  8. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Córdoba (Spain)
    Posts
    1,513
    Quote Originally Posted by OiOliverOi View Post
    ERROR: x11-libs/libXpm-3.5.7 failed

    Call Stack:
    ebuild.sh, line 49: Called src_compile
    enviroment, line 2871: Called xrmodular_src_compile
    enviroment, line 3606: Called x-modular_src_make
    enviroment, line 3640: Called die
    The real error must be above that. Repeat and paste from like 20 or 30 lines before. The package that failed is libXpm, actually.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    6
    Never mind
    i fixed it =)
    the problem was that a library called libexpat.so.0 was missing
    this seems to be a rather common problem, but can be fixed by using echo to copy libexpat.so.1 into libexpat.so.0
    =)
    Thanks for all the help

  10. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Córdoba (Spain)
    Posts
    1,513
    Quote Originally Posted by OiOliverOi View Post
    Never mind
    i fixed it =)
    the problem was that a library called libexpat.so.0 was missing
    this seems to be a rather common problem, but can be fixed by using echo to copy libexpat.so.1 into libexpat.so.0
    =)
    Thanks for all the help
    It *seems* to work, but it's not actually a fix.

    The real fix is to erase that copy, and then use revdep-rebuild to recompile all your programs against the new libexpat. If you don't have revdep-rebuild, emerge gentoolkit to get it.

    The problem with libexpat is that the lib name was changed. And it was changed for a reason: to force all the users to recompile against the new libexpart, because it's incompatible ABI-wise with the old version. So, if you just rename the lib with the new version, you are automatically breaking all the programs that use libexpat. They might seem to work, but expect trouble in the future if you continue using that *solution*.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •