Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hey all, I have a shaky screen in XFree... it used to start after the monitor went to sleep, but now it is permanent, even when i restart the screen ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    6

    shaky screen


    Hey all, I have a shaky screen in XFree... it used to start after the monitor went to sleep, but now it is permanent, even when i restart the screen is shaky in X.

    I am using a framebuffer with 1024x768 resolution and a resolution of 1280x1024 in X. i've mixed and matched resolutions to no avail. I have also changed the monitor horizontal and vertical refresh rates to something more conservative. No dice.

    Any suggestions on how to get rid of this bastard shaky screen?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Knoxhell, TN
    Posts
    1,078
    how old is your monitor?? it could be the behavior of a dying CRT
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

  3. #3
    Content Team tylerwylie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    120
    Most likely. My 95 Gateway evx00 is dieing of that haha. Sucks to play games, that's why it's sitting in the corner doing nothing now.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    6

    monitor new

    My monitor is a whopping 6 months old. And its weird because it started working fine yesterday. It only goes shaky after it switches to the screensaver or something. And... in windows this doesn't happen. Its weird

  5. #5
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    check your refresh rates, thats a very likely culprit.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,296
    use a program called "ddcxinfo-knoppix" to detect the correct resolutions and refresh rates for you monitor. you can emerge it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •