Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I have a Core2 Due system, ATI 3700 HD, 2GB There are multi partitions my fdisk readout is this. Disk /dev/sda: 250.0 GB, 250058268160 bytes 255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4

    desperate for GRUB help on bonked boot drive.! Help!


    I have a Core2 Due system, ATI 3700 HD, 2GB

    There are multi partitions my fdisk readout is this.
    Disk /dev/sda: 250.0 GB, 250058268160 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x343fcb45

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 3889 31238361 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2 3890 30400 212949607+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda5 7777 30400 181727248+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda6 3890 7459 28675962 83 Linux
    /dev/sda7 7473 7776 2441848+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda8 7460 7472 104391 83 Linux

    Partition table entries are not in disk order


    SDA1 is Windows XP which I would like to keep, I have linux gentoo updated and with gnome on sda6, and sda8 is the boot drive.

    The problem is complexed and I have spend all but two days trying EVERYTHING. Im using the systemrescuecd and trying to FIX my bonked grub. it has gone insane, bootup now presents a DISTORTED text screen that seems to resemble linux boot text. But fails at end, no I can't read it.

    This happened when I was trying to fix my system to run FUSE and I tried to use the systemcd boot conf file as per some instruction on gentoo website (I think they ment minimalcd one now), either way it went bad and all.

    I just need to get this back to square one, I have made a nice new kernel compile and dumped it on the boot drive and attempted to use grub to fix it, grub even said yes its all good. But nope there is NO change to the boot status.

    This has totaly ruined my weekend so fi someone can help me out PLEASE.

    I dunno howto use IRC on this systemcd otherwise I be on that.


    Cheers.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4
    I think I may need to re-run emerge grub on the chroot of the main linux drive (boot drive) but it WON"T let me, produces from rw error and now allowed, yet I mounted the drive with rw permission.

    I say this because there is almost nothing in the /boot/grub folder cept my menu etc, I thought there was to be stage files etc in it..


    This is my menu.lst and grub.conf...


    default 0
    timeout 10

    #splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz


    title Gentoo Linux
    root (hd0,5)
    kernel /boot/kernel root=/dev/sda6
    kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.27-gentoo-r8 root=/dev/sda6

    title Windows XP
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    makeactive
    chainloader +1


    looks good to me, but these options NEVER show up, the boot just goes to cursor at top left corner then boots into linux with distorted text.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4
    emerge grub after chroot the root and boot and trying to setup grub on it again. This is kinda silly as I mounted it manually with RW.

    Code:
    mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda7,
           missing codepage or helper program, or other error
           In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
           dmesg | tail  or so
    
     * 
     * Cannot automatically mount your /boot partition.
     * Your boot partition has to be mounted rw before the installation
     * can continue. grub needs to install important files there.
     * 
     * 
     * ERROR: sys-boot/grub-0.97-r6 failed.
     * Call stack:
     *               ebuild.sh, line   49:  Called pkg_preinst
     *             environment, line 2709:  Called mount-boot_pkg_preinst
     *             environment, line 2554:  Called mount-boot_mount_boot_partition
     *             environment, line 2543:  Called die
     * The specific snippet of code:
     *                   die "Please mount your /boot partition manually!";
     *  The die message:
     *   Please mount your /boot partition manually!
     * 
     * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
     * A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/sys-boot/grub-0.97-r6/temp/build.log'.
     * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/sys-boot/grub-0.97-r6/temp/environment'.
     * 
    !!! FAILED preinst: 1

  4. #4
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Are you booting a LiveCD to chroot? I have always used Knoppix and I have never seen these errors before.
    And check this too.
    wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda7,
    Yet you said earlier:
    /dev/sda6 3890 7459 28675962 83 Linux
    I have linux gentoo updated and with gnome on sda6 and sda8 is the boot drive.
    So, you need to be mounting /dev/sda8, because that is where grub is.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4
    Yeah your right just about, I figured it out soon after my last post. The grub files or conf files etc were found on SDA6, I was mounting SDA8 ontop and it was screwing it up bigtime which is why I could see files.

    What led me to this was the tab option in grub that autocompletes. It was suggesting files I coudln't find anywhere on my system so I started guessing I did a mount ontop of already existing files.

    All fixed now, but for how long... hehe,. Now to find a AWESOME site for getting gnome up and organised. atm its very minimalise and I hope I can find some sort of GUI auto package installer, perhaps one that is compat with git and emerge.

    Let me know if you happen to know of one.

  6. #6
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    The only decent "GUI auto package installer" for Gentoo, that I know of is, Porthole. You might give that a try.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •