Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
going crazy step by step. 1-) nano /etc/resolv.conf 2-) edit the file 3-) cat /etc/resolv.conf nameserver 212.57.1.12 nameserver 212.57.1.13 4-) reboot 5-) cat /etc/resolv.conf nameserver 192.168.1.1 6-)...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Istanbul,Turkey
    Posts
    151

    going crazy step by step.


    going crazy step by step.

    1-) nano /etc/resolv.conf
    2-) edit the file
    3-) cat /etc/resolv.conf
    nameserver 212.57.1.12
    nameserver 212.57.1.13
    4-) reboot
    5-) cat /etc/resolv.conf
    nameserver 192.168.1.1


    6-)
    Have a nice day

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    347
    Did you edit the file from the LiveCD? If so did you first chroot?

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Istanbul,Turkey
    Posts
    151
    lol no, this is my gentoo system installed from stage3.
    Have a nice day

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    The obvious: Are you root when you do this?
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Istanbul,Turkey
    Posts
    151
    of course...
    as you can see in step 3, the file is OK till reboot...
    Have a nice day

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    resolv.conf is overwritten at boot if DHCP is on.

    I presume thatīs whatīs happening.
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  8. #7
    Content Team tylerwylie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    120
    If you run dhcp your router or whatever automatically configures it that way,

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    3
    I think what you need it to configure it in /etc/conf.d/net

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •