Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Failed to start the X server (your graphical interface). it is likely that it is not set up correctly. would you like to view the x server output to diagnose ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    7

    Xorg problem in gentoo


    Failed to start the X server (your graphical interface). it is likely that it is not set up correctly. would you like to view the x server output to diagnose the problem?




    X window System Version 1.3.0

    Release Date: 10 April 2007

    X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 1.3

    Build Operating System: UNKNOWN

    Current Operating System: Linux localhost 2.6.24-gentoo-r5 #1 SMP THU

    (==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log"

    (==) Using config file: "/etc/x11/xorg.config"

    (II) Module already built-in

    (EE) open /dev/fb0: No such file or directory

    (EE) No devices detected

    Fatal server error: no screens found



    how do i get rid of this problem?
    i have nforce chipset 630i geforce 7100 builtin AGP

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    7
    i forgot to tell that i installed gentoo as virtual machine under virtualbox

  3. #3
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Your not forgetting that things are virtual ... example from a Mint vm for lspci
    Code:
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 440FX - 82441FX PMC [Natoma] (rev 02)
    00:01.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82371SB PIIX3 ISA [Natoma/Triton II]
    00:01.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE (rev 01)
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: InnoTek Systemberatung GmbH VirtualBox Graphics Adapter
    00:03.0 Ethernet controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] 79c970 [PCnet32 LANCE] (rev 40)
    00:04.0 System peripheral: InnoTek Systemberatung GmbH VirtualBox Guest Service
    00:07.0 Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI (rev 08)
    No sign of the nVidia graphics card the PC has ... same output non vm ...
    Code:
    00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
    00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 0 (rev a2)
    00:00.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 1 (rev a2)
    00:00.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 5 (rev a2)
    00:00.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 4 (rev a2)
    00:00.5 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
    00:00.6 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 3 (rev a2)
    00:00.7 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 2 (rev a2)
    00:02.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
    00:03.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
    00:04.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
    00:05.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation MCP51 PCI-X GeForce Go 610
    0 (rev a2)
    00:09.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
    00:0a.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 LPC Bridge (rev a3)
    00:0a.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP51 SMBus (rev a3)
    00:0a.3 Co-processor: nVidia Corporation MCP51 PMU (rev a3)
    00:0b.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP51 USB Controller (rev a3)
    00:0b.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP51 USB Controller (rev a3)
    00:0d.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP51 IDE (rev f1)
    00:0e.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Serial ATA Controller (rev f1)
    00:10.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
    00:10.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP51 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
    00:14.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Ethernet Controller (rev a3)
    00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTra                                                                                                nsport Technology Configuration
    00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address                                                                                                 Map
    00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Con                                                                                                troller
    00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscella                                                                                                neous Control
    01:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 802.11b/g WLAN (rev 01)
    04:06.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCIxx12 Cardbus Controller
    04:06.2 Mass storage controller: Texas Instruments 5-in-1 Multimedia Card Reader

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    7
    whats the solution to my problem?

  6. #5
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Have you checked you are not trying to use the drivers for your graphics card rather than the vm display? What are the error messages in the log?

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    7
    well...i didnt do anything..the live cd GUI is working fine and i can use gentoo via live cd but after installing it when its loading it doesnt load the gui and i get Xorg error...the log file is too huge...how can i copy from it and paste it...i installed it as a vm in virtualbox.. the problem is stating about dev/fb0 or some graphics driver...
    (==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log"

    (==) Using config file: "/etc/x11/xorg.config"

    (II) Module already built-in

    (EE) open /dev/fb0: No such file or directory

    (EE) No devices detected

    Fatal server error: no screens found

  8. #7
    Linux User dxqcanada's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    259
    Run:
    Code:
    # Xorg -configure



    Men occasionally stumble over the truth,
    but most of them pick themselves up
    and hurry off as if nothing had happened.

    Winston Churchill


    ... then the Unix-Gods created "man" ...

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    7
    ok guys, i have just installed Gentoo from command line via LiveCD# i have set up grub and everything.. im wondering how do i setup Desktop Environment XFCE 4, do i need to first install and configure XORG then install and configure XFCE 4?

  10. #9
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Quote Originally Posted by invizible View Post
    odo i need to first install and configure XORG then install and configure XFCE 4?
    this should help ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •