Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi im new to linux, i wanted to know which linux desktop environment is the best and more interactive and userfriendly? im installing gentoo on virtualbox, should i select KDE, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

best desktop environment?

Hi im new to linux, i wanted to know which linux desktop environment is the best and more interactive and userfriendly? im installing gentoo on virtualbox, should i select KDE, GDM, XFCE 4? any recommondation will be appreciated

oz
    forum.guy
    Quote Originally Posted by invizible View Post
    Hi im new to linux, i wanted to know which linux desktop environment is the best and more interactive and userfriendly? im installing gentoo on virtualbox, should i select KDE, GDM, XFCE 4? any recommondation will be appreciated
    It's truly a matter of personal preference for each user, so in the end you'll probably need to try each of them in order to know what you really like best. Note that GDM is the Gnome Display Manager and not a desktop environment. You can install Gnome with, or without GDM.

All that said, I personally prefer Gnome, although I am also a big fan of Xfce4.
    oz

Linux Guru
    You do realize that if that question had an answer then there would be absolutely no point in having many desktops, but just one, don't you?

As the other user said, it's a matter of personal preference. My advice is to hand a bit around the net and look some screenshots. Start in the site for each one of the major desktops: kde.org, gnome.org and xfce.org. Then you can try them on livecd to get a taste. After that you you can choose one. By the way, GDM is not a desktop, it's a display manager which is another thing. You probably meant gnome.

What's better for you? only you can say that.

KDE is all about configurability and options, some people would argue that there are lots of options, but not the right ones. To each his/her own.