Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hi everybody, i have a massive trouble with my Gentoo, I downloaded Open Office in a RPM format but when I run this command: #rpm -ivh *rpm it SIMPLY DOESN'T ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    28

    Smile Help with an Office Suite


    Hi everybody, i have a massive trouble with my Gentoo, I downloaded Open Office in a RPM format but when I run this command: #rpm -ivh *rpm it SIMPLY DOESN'T WORK, it says that has a dependency error.

    I tried to install KOffice too but there is a problem with a opengl flag, so I don't know if there is an installer that is only one file and install it more easely.

    Thanks guys.

    Many.

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    You'll have better luck if you'll use the packages found in the Gentoo repositories.
    oz

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast gruven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    541
    For Koffice you probably just need "opengl" in your use flags.

    For open office, you need to emerge "openoffice-bin".

    Remember, there is nothing particularly easy about Gentoo until you get everything setup like you like it, and it pretty much runs itself then.

    Linux User #376741
    Code is Poetry

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    28
    Thanks, I try to put the opengl flag but when I run #emerge koffice says that I have to re-emerge the X11/qt with that flag, what should I do?

    I have to put some flag before to use the #emerge openoffice-bin? or some dependency?

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast gruven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    541
    Quote Originally Posted by Many View Post
    Thanks, I try to put the opengl flag but when I run #emerge koffice says that I have to re-emerge the X11/qt with that flag, what should I do?

    I have to put some flag before to use the #emerge openoffice-bin? or some dependency?
    After you put opengl in your use flags, you need to rebuild your world with that use flag. Every time you add or subtract use flags you need to do this.
    Code:
    emerge -avuDN world
    Then review what it is going to rebuild, hit "y" if you agree, then hit enter.

    For openoffice-bin, you can enable/disable use flags as you see fit. To review the use flags, just do this:
    Code:
    emerge -av openoffice-bin
    and select "no" if you want to change a use flag. Then add that to your USE flags in make.conf, and then do that command again. If you agree, type in "y" and hit enter, and it will emerge away.

    Portage isn't hard to use, it just takes some getting used to the USE flags and what you need to do to enable and use them.

    Linux User #376741
    Code is Poetry

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    28
    :O i didn't know that "world" thing, thanks dude...I will try it and see what happens....

    Thanks really....

    Greetins from Guatemala!!!

  7. #7
    Linux Enthusiast gruven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    541
    Here is some very nice documentation about portage if you aren't familiar with Gentoo:
    Gentoo Linux Documentation -- A Portage Introduction

    It will help you maintain your install using portage, and explain some of its features.

    Linux User #376741
    Code is Poetry

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    28
    I will check it, thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •