Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
I am new to linux. I have started the gentoo 2007 cd installation and need the username and password in order to use the command line. Is there a generic ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Gentoo 2007

I am new to linux. I have started the gentoo 2007 cd installation and need the username and password in order to use the command line. Is there a generic user name and password for the livecd? I did not enter one when I booted up tried gentoo/gentoo and did not work. Also how do you put in a mount point when installing I cannot get past that.

Just to let you know I checked the install documentation for the generic login for the command prompt, have not found it yet. Still reading I am sure there is an explanation for a mount point but your help would be appreciated.

Thanks for your help in advance,

Gatsby

If you are really new to linux and do not have a strong reason to learn Gentoo, then you better choose a newuser friendly distros like Ubuntu or Mandriva.

That said, I guess Gentoo logs in automatically as root (or you may have to type 'root' and enter without any root password during installation.) You may create a regular user with 'useradd' command like
    Code:
    useradd -m -s /bin/bash gatsby
    passwd gatsby
    Read the Gentoo handbook between the lines. It has information about almost all the issues we may face.
    A candle looses nothing by lighting other candles. - Khalil Zibran.
    Registered Linux User #490076

Also, since you are new, I will give you this piece of advice: Do not use that old cd.

Gentoo only officially supports the new weekly builds of livecds. You can install Gentoo using any livecd, I prefer the System Rescue CD. Just search on google for it.