Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi all, I'm a total newb to Gentoo, my ex put it on my laptop, but now that we're not together anymore I want to install Win XP back onto ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux Newb - CDRW/DVDRW isn't recognized - Please help

Hi all,

I'm a total newb to Gentoo, my ex put it on my laptop, but now that we're not together anymore I want to install Win XP back onto my laptop with the recovery disc so I can work my OS. I know some basic commands and how to get into root prompt.

Problem: my laptop is pretty new and I was told Gentoo might have compatibility glitches (I have an HP dv5 core 2 duo bought about 6 mo ago). When I try to install the Win XP disc, Gentoo does not recognize that my CDRW/DVDRW drive even exists right now.

All I need is to figure out how to get Gentoo to recognize my CD/DVD drive exists or find some way to boot the recovery disc from bios so I can get Win XP back on the system.

I know it is Gentoo because my CD/DVD driver worked fine before Gentoo was installed.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

Welcome to the forums!

You want to remove Gentoo and install Windows. The good news is it has nothing to do with Gentoo or Linux. This is a matter of booting from Windows XP installation CD and letting it do what it has to do. It will overwrite everything currently on your hard drive. Just make sure CD is your first boot device in BIOS or use boot menu (F12 for my laptop, yours may differ).

Edit: In some cases Windows may have hard time understanding Linux disk layout and refuses to install. In this case please see How to Remove Linux and Install Windows XP.

Just Joined!