Find the answer to your Linux question:
I just installed gentoo successfully, but I can't emerge anything. I keep getting circular errors for everything. I mean everything. I was able to get xserver installed but with a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Is it me?

I just installed gentoo successfully, but I can't emerge anything. I keep getting circular errors for everything. I mean everything. I was able to get xserver installed but with a ton of errors. I can't seem to get a window manager installed becuase of circular dependancies. I am not a Linux N00b, but I am a Gentoo Newb. The handbook is great help unless you have errors. Am I the only one having issues? I mean if your install is successful should it be as easy as emerge xorgserver and emerge gnome? I have tried all except kde but keep getting circular errors.

is this fixable or should I start over from ground zero?
    Some people have told me they don't think a fat penguin really embodies the grace of Linux, which just tells me they have never seen a angry penguin charging at them in excess of 100mph. They'd be a lot more careful about what they say if they had.
    -- Linus Torvalds

Just Joined!
    I've personally installed GNOME, Xfce, and Fluxbox without running into circular dependencies or any problems like that. I'm not sure how to help, but I know I've run into a couple of problems with non-DE installations. I had blocked man pages before, when updating, because I had man-pages-whatever, and there was a man-pages-posix pulled in, or whatever. I don't know exactly what happened. Other than that, I had it happen a couple times, only, and didn't know exactly what to do. (what to change, what to remove, whatever).
    I do remember having problems when I first installed one package (like gnome-light), and then tried to install more (like gnome).