Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hi, i managed to install gentoo (sort of) when i boot i get the option to choose OS, when i choose Gentoo it goes through a series of checks and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4

    [SOLVED] Connection problem


    Hi, i managed to install gentoo (sort of)

    when i boot i get the option to choose OS, when i choose Gentoo it goes through a series of checks and scanns this goes on for a while, until i get an error which is;

    *Starting eth0
    * Configuration not set for eth0 - assuming DHCP
    * No DHCP client installed
    *ERROR: cannot start netmount as net.eth0 could not start
    *Starting local ...

    This is localhost.unknown_domain (Linux i686 2.6.30-gentoo-r6) 22.25.48

    localhost login:

    I have no idea what my login or password is, its propably because i setup the connection incorrect. My laptop is connected to a router, which i think sets its own IP, Gateway etc..

    Any ideas

    cheers

    Al

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    109
    Hi alwise17
    Although closed (solved) it may help in your case.
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/gen...d-working.html
    I also believe it was Gentoo. Cheers...
    Robert

  3. #3
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,040
    Quote Originally Posted by alwise17 View Post
    I have no idea what my login or password is
    If you followed the handbook then you have setup a password for root user, so enter username root and then when prompted for the password enter the password you set during the install process. Incase that does not work you need to boot from another Linux install or a live CD and chroot in.
    Once you can login as root ... setup a regular user account.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonathan183 View Post
    If you followed the handbook then you have setup a password for root user, so enter username root and then when prompted for the password enter the password you set during the install process. Incase that does not work you need to boot from another Linux install or a live CD and chroot in.
    Once you can login as root ... setup a regular user account.
    Hi,

    thanks for the replies i added a new user removed the portage etc.. that it said i had to in the hand book but when i reboot i sign in as my new user and then it just prompts asking for me to enter another command, how do i actually get onto my desktop, or is there more to do?

    Al

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast gruven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    541
    Once you install Gentoo and reboot, then all you have is a very minimal set of tools to accomplish your tasks.

    You need to download, compile, and install (which portage does for you) Xorg, a desktop environment, and any other tools you may need.

    As long as you followed the handbook, then you shouldn't have any problems with your base system. There is a lot of documentation for just about anything in Gentoo.

    Here is a good place to start:
    Gentoo Linux -- Gentoo Documentation Resources

    Make sure and read the handbook about portage, and all the tools that it has.

    Linux User #376741
    Code is Poetry

  6. #6
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,040
    Quote Originally Posted by alwise17 View Post
    thanks for the replies i added a new user removed the portage etc..
    As gruven said follow the handbook. I'm pretty sure you should not remove user portage ... is that what you have done? if so how did you do it? and which part of the handbook were you following which told you to do that

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4
    hi,

    i think i meant portage snapshot,

    sry

    Code:
    11.b. Disk Cleanup
    
    Removing tarballs
    
    Now that you've finished installing Gentoo and rebooted, if everything has gone well, you can remove the downloaded stage3 tarball and Portage snapshot from your hard disk. Remember that they were downloaded to your / directory. 
    
    Code Listing 2.1: Removing the stage3 tarball
     
    # rm /stage3-*.tar.bz2*
     
    Code Listing 2.2: Removing the Portage snapshot
     
    # rm /portage-latest.tar.bz2*

    thanks for the help

    Al

  8. #8
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,040
    Quote Originally Posted by alwise17 View Post
    i think i meant portage snapshot
    No problem ... enjoy your Gentoo

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •