Find the answer to your Linux question:
I just completed a stage3 install of Gentoo, and am interested in installing kde. Is it really as s imple as typing emerge kde, and that will download and install ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Newbie

Is it really that simple to install things?

I just completed a stage3 install of Gentoo, and am interested in installing kde. Is it really as s imple as typing emerge kde, and that will download and install kde? Can I then do startx and switchdesk kde? or is there more to the installation than I realize?

Kind of a newb question; this is my first time with gentoo, and I've read a fair ammount about how great emerge is and am excited to use it.
    N3WO

There are 10 types of people; those who count in binary and those who don\'t...

Just Joined!

Re: Is it really that simple to install things?

Quote Originally Posted by n3wo
    I just completed a stage3 install of Gentoo, and am interested in installing kde. Is it really as s imple as typing emerge kde, and that will download and install kde? Can I then do startx and switchdesk kde? or is there more to the installation than I realize?

Kind of a newb question; this is my first time with gentoo, and I've read a fair ammount about how great emerge is and am excited to use it.
    yes, it can be that simple. obviously some applications (servers for instance) require some configuration in order to function, but most of the time 'emerge foo' then running 'foo' will work.

with kde, its mixed. for kde itself simply running 'emerge kde' will work great. if you already have X setup, then can then add startkde to ~/.xinitrc and run startx and enjoy kde.

if you dont have X setup, you will have to get it working before you can use kde.

also, once you get X working and provided kde is installed, you can set it to use kdm under /etc/rc.conf and rc-update add xdm default to have the system boot into the the graphical login utility.