Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Two days ago, I finally installed Gentoo. Yesterday, I finally got the net working. Now, my problem is that when I try emerging a package, it take nearly 20 minutes. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    47

    Is this normal?


    Two days ago, I finally installed Gentoo. Yesterday, I finally got the net working. Now, my problem is that when I try emerging a package, it take nearly 20 minutes.

    After talking on #gentoo, I was told to run mirrorselect. Problem is that I had to emerge it. It's been about 10 hours and mirrorselect is still emerging.

    I've got a AMD Athlon XP 1.8 GHz CPU and a 3MB DSL connection. Anyone have any ideas?

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast scientica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    South- or "Mid-" Sweden
    Posts
    742
    is it just the downloading phase that takes that time or the whole emerge? (if it's the whole emerge it's normal, since it actually compiles the apps, meaning "converting the source code to bits in a nice pattern" )
    Regards Scienitca (registered user #335819 - http://counter.li.org )
    --
    A master is nothing more than a student who knows something of which he can teach to other students.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    47
    It takes about 20 minutes for the computer to go to the next try. I haven't timed it so I'm estimating. Once it finds a server, it doesn't take long to download.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    www.syracuse.com
    Posts
    119
    this is quite normal. it takes a while to compile every necessary component from scratch. if you would rather not wait, you could install pre-compiled packages. or you could just install everything you want during the night when it doesn't matter how long it takes.

    http://gentoo.vidalinux.com/ and some others seem to of set up packages if you were interested.

    the command you probably want is "emerge -k packagename" for installing packages.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    47
    You've got it wrong. I type in emerge <insert ebuild here> and it takes 20 minutes to go to the next try on the server. If I get the message back the ebuild doesn't exist on the server, it just takes 20 minutes or more to connect. Once it connects to a server and the file exists, it doesn't take long for it to download. When I was installing, it was much faster. Now, I'm done installing and its slow as a snail.

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    www.syracuse.com
    Posts
    119
    i would try inserting different mirrors into your /etc/make.conf file and see if you get the same problem with other mirrors. check out http://www.gentoo.org/main/en/mirrors.xml for a list of mirrors.

    how you are connected to the internet might also be your problem. i don't see how it would cause this right now, but it could be, and might be worth investigating.

    good luck.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    47
    Isn't that what mirrorselect does?

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    www.syracuse.com
    Posts
    119
    mirrorselect should do that for you. but for some reason it didn't work for me when i did the gentoo install, it broke something when i ran it. so i just looked for hosts within 200 miles of my location and inserted them manually.

  10. #9
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    did you emerge sync first?
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    47
    It just must be slow in the TTY because when I used the LiveCD and got fluxbox working, it was fast as it usually is.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •