Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello everyone, I am a new noob on the linux fans. I have been reading up on all the linux distros and I decided I want to install Gentoo on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

noob linux with macbook

Hello everyone, I am a new noob on the linux fans. I have been reading up on all the linux distros and I decided I want to install Gentoo on my Macbook Pro. I googled Gentoo on a Macbook Pro and some posts came up. I tried following a few but no success. I installed rEFIt on my mac for booting up and being able to selected anything I want. I already have installed snow leopard and Windows 7 on my mac (work purpose) , and I do enjoy using macs, that is the main reason why I have had a macbook pro for 2 years. I am a flash developer and I was always interested on Linux, just never took the step forward, and now here I am. I decided that I could get rid of windows 7 and install Gentoo on that partition where windows 7 was.

I booted Boot Camp Assistant
    I clicked next and then I selected "Start the windows Installer"
    I inserted the Gentoo livedvd
    I click on restart.

My mac restarted and booted to Gentoo from the Dvd. Now I don't know how to install Gentoo. Where is the install application? or I don't know what? Also, I can't see anything, EVERYTHING is big, like there is a trash icon inside a window and at the moment I click on the options button, pop up menu comes up and I can't read anything because the font is at least 500px. What am I doing wrong? Could you guys help me out?

Thanks in advance.
    Oscar

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

Right before the Gentoo CD begins to boot up, check the screen for any kernel boot options (usually found through the F-keys) that will allow you to set the screen resolution.