Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
Yes , I want to install KDE...I tried gnome and I installed successfully in some minutes but I want KDE.....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    14

    Yes , I want to install KDE...I tried gnome and I installed successfully in some minutes but I want KDE..

  2. #12
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    I'd suggest you start here, if you run into errors, then just post back here with the exact error message and any output from the failed build.
    Gentoo Linux Documentation -- Gentoo KDE Guide
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    14
    this is the guide I use...It would be so stupid if I was posting here without checking this guide

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    I think the way to go would be to update the system and then install KDE4. So I would try to do it this way.
    Sync portage and make sure you have the latest version of portage
    Code:
    emerge --sync && emerge portage
    Update your system fully
    Code:
    emerge -avuDN system
    Code:
    emerge -avuDN world
    Then try installing KDE4 with the same command as before.
    Code:
    emerge -avu kde-meta
    If this doesn't work, then you need to post your /etc/make.conf file and the output of
    Code:
    emerge --info
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    14
    Well , I want to install only the kdebase and not the whole KDE.
    I will try something like this :
    Code:
    emerge -avu kdebase-meta
    Is that ok?

  7. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    14
    Code:
    emerge -avuDN world
    dpaste.com/201542/

    Code:
    emerge --info
    dpaste.com/201543/

    Code:
    emerge -avuDN system
    This worked successfully.

    Sync was successfully too.

  8. #17
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Your command should work just fine, remember though...KDE4 is difficult at best...expect trouble one way or another.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  9. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    14
    Since I get the same error , I don't think it works fine :P
    I will try to reinstall Gentoo after exams...

  10. #19
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Well, that is why I was telling you to use the --skip-first or --keep-going commands....eventually the missing lib or whatever, WILL get installed. Anyhoo, good luck with your exams, Gentoo will still be a beast and waiting for you.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  11. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    14
    Thanks a lot!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •