Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
Hello all, I've been using Ubuntu for a few years now and finally decided to make the switch to something more intense. I'm trying to dual-boot Gentoo with Windows 7 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! darthlunchbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    11

    Problems unpacking Stage3 tarball


    Hello all, I've been using Ubuntu for a few years now and finally decided to make the switch to something more intense. I'm trying to dual-boot Gentoo with Windows 7 on a newly built computer. I've been following the installation documentation on Gentoo's site, but I keep encountering a problem.

    First a quick background: I got to the end of the install already, but I had mistyped my grub configuration file, so I tried to go back through the livecd and edit it. Only, when I remounted everything and chrooted, there was no grub/boot folder. After a while, I just decided to start the install fresh and formatted the partition with ext3 again. Now, everything seems to go well until I try to unpack the stage3 tarball. It bombs out and gives me some errors:
    Code:
    # tar xjpf stage3-i686-20100824.tar.bz2
    tar: ./boot/.keep: Cannot open: Read-only file system
    tar: ./boot/boot: Cannot create symlink to '.': File exists
    tar: ./boot: Cannot utime: Read-only file system
    tar: ./boot: Cannot change ownershipt to uid 0, gid 0: Read-only file system
    tar: ./boot: Cannot change mode to rwxr-xr-x: Read-only file system
    tar: Exiting with failure status due to previous errors.
    I think these have to do with the previous almost-install I had accomplished, but I'm not sure of that, and wouldn't know how to fix that if it is the case.

    If anyone's got an idea, it would be greatly appreciated!

    EDIT:
    Here's the machine specs (for what it's worth):
    Intel i7-930
    EVGA x58 FTW3 motherboard
    nvidia geforce gtx 480
    6GB RAM

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer hazel's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Harrow, UK
    Posts
    1,211
    It looks as if you are trying to unpack the tarball in your cdrom root partition. Have you mounted the new ext3 partition on /mnt/gentoo and moved across to it?
    "I'm just a little old lady; don't try to dazzle me with jargon!"
    www.hrussman.entadsl.com

  3. #3
    Just Joined! darthlunchbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    11
    I've mounted /dev/sda3 (my linux partition formatted to ext3) to /mnt/gentoo, and also mounted /dev/sda1 to /mnt/gentoo/boot, then changed my directory to /mnt/gentoo (sda2 is my windows partition), but I'm still getting those errors. :/ Did I mess up a command in there?

  4. #4
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Have you used chroot at this point? Are you installing from another Linux install or LiveCD?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer Segfault's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Acadiana
    Posts
    877
    mount command will display what's mounted and where. Filesystems with errors are mounted read-only by default.

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer hazel's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Harrow, UK
    Posts
    1,211
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    Have you used chroot at this point? Are you installing from another Linux install or LiveCD?
    It looks like he's using a CD. And as far as I can remember from my own Gentoo install, you can't chroot until you've unpacked the tarball because, before that, there aren't the files to make a working root partition.

    If Segfault is right, then the answer might be to run fsck on the new partition and correct any filesystem errors before proceeding further.
    "I'm just a little old lady; don't try to dazzle me with jargon!"
    www.hrussman.entadsl.com

  7. #7
    Just Joined! darthlunchbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    11
    I am running of the liveCD right now; should have mentioned that. But anyway, when I run the 'mount' comman, sans any other input, I get quite a few lines, but my hard drives are listed last as such:
    Code:
    /dev/sda3 on /mnt/gentoo type ext3 (rw)
    /dev/sda1 on /mnt/gentoo/boot type ntfs (rw)
    The only devices listed as read-only are /dev/sr0 and /dev/loop0, which is mounted on /mnt/livecd.

    When I run fsck /dev/sda3, it outputs this:
    Code:
    fsck from util-linux-ng 2.17.2
    e2fsck 1.41.11 (14-Mar-2010)
    /dev/sda3: recovering journal
    /dev/sda3: clean, 36267/30228480 files, 2113718/120906552 blocks
    I mounted the MBR and linux partition again, but the same errors come out of unpacking the tarball.

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer Segfault's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Acadiana
    Posts
    877
    sda1 is NTFS? Is this your Windows partition?
    Your / is supposed to be empty before downloading and unpacking stage3.

  9. #9
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by Segfault View Post
    sda1 is NTFS? Is this your Windows partition?
    Your / is supposed to be empty before downloading and unpacking stage3.
    Good catch, it's also supposed to be either ext2/3/4, anything but NTFS.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  10. #10
    Just Joined! darthlunchbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    11
    I had a sneaking suspicion that had something to do with it, but I wasn't sure. That's the boot sector on the hard drive, so I should mke2fs on /sda1 and it should be good? (I don't want to accidentally kill something, so I'm making sure I'm keeping up with you guys first )

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •