Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Hello forum, I just installed a recent version of Gentoo (2.6.35-r12 kernel) and Gnome 2.30.2 and gave myself administrative privileges. I can su okay and open programs using gksu on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    3

    [SOLVED] No root password prompt


    Hello forum,

    I just installed a recent version of Gentoo (2.6.35-r12 kernel) and Gnome 2.30.2 and gave myself administrative privileges. I can su okay and open programs using gksu on the command line with no problem. But if I try to open a program from the start menu that requires root privileges, no root password prompt pops up but instead I get a popup window saying I do not have administrative rights to open the program.

    I know I can edit the menu editor by prefixing each program name with" gksu" but that is not a fix, that is a workaround.

    My question would be how can I get the root password prompt to pop up when access programs from the start menu that require root privileges?

    Thanks in advance,
    Roy
    Last edited by rrrssssss; 12-21-2010 at 03:13 PM.

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    119
    It has been a while, but I believe that gnome uses the usermode package to make this happen. Is this package installed?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    3
    Hello markcole,

    The closest thing Gentoo has for the usermode package is one called usermode-utilities and they are tools for Linux usermode virtual machines. It is not installed. Since I don't have a virtual machine, I figured that was the wrong package. Do you think that is the right package?

    Thanks,
    Roy

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    3
    I installed usermode-utilities but that did not help.

    What I did do, however, is make myself a member of the stb-admin group. Then I had to reboot the system for the settings to take place, simply logging out and back in would not work. I also made myself a member of the sabayon-admin group just in case it was needed.

    Roy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •