Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, Yesterday I managed to setup and build a Gentoo/Windows installation on my Fujitsu Lifebook (T4215). I compiled the Kernel etc and reboot, to which GRUB loaded find and allowed ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

ext2fs_check_if_mounted??

Hi,

Yesterday I managed to setup and build a Gentoo/Windows installation on my Fujitsu Lifebook (T4215). I compiled the Kernel etc and reboot, to which GRUB loaded find and allowed me to select my OS.

I have 2 small issues, and 1 major that i need some help with.

1st Small Issue - Installing syslog-ng

I couldn't emerge syslog-ng, it required a package.use file creating, but it turns out i dont have the "/etc/portage" directory inwhich to make "/etc/portage/package.use" that i can put the USE flag for cairo in to emerge syslog-ng.

If i need to do this, it will be via the livecd as i currently cant boot into the main system (due to my major issue)

2nd Small Issue - Incorrect Kernel Name in grub.conf

I can work around this for now, i put the kernel name in grub.conf as "kernel-2.6.34-r8". It should be "kernel-2.6.34-gentoo-r8". How can i update the grub.conf to ensure it boots without intervention?

Yet again, i would have to use the livecd, as the major issue does not allow me to boot into my enviroment.

Finally, Major Issue.

When it tries to load my gentoo installation from the hard drive, it produces the following error:

"ext2fs_check_if_mount: No such file or directory while determining whether /dev/root is mounted
    fsck.ext3: No such file or directory while trying to open /dev/root
    /dev/root:
    The superblock could not be read or does not descirbe a correct ext2 filesystem. If the device is valid and it really contains an ext2 filesystem ( and not swap of ufs or something selse_, then the superblock is corrupt, and you might try running e2fsck with an alternate superblock:
    e2fsck -b 8193 (device)