Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 19 of 19
oo..okay..i'll try it..Thanks alot..sorry for the troubles EDIT : Originally Posted by MikeTbob Hmmm, If GRUB isn't on either partition, are you sure it's installed and not just left over ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    9

    oo..okay..i'll try it..Thanks alot..sorry for the troubles

    EDIT :
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    Hmmm, If GRUB isn't on either partition, are you sure it's installed and not just left over from a previous install?
    i'm sure grub already installed, because it showed up right after i reboot my pc..

    here it is the one that you asked before, i've got it.
    cat /boot/grub/grub.conf
    IMG_0043.jpg
    Last edited by daim2604; 11-17-2011 at 06:22 AM.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    9
    ~BUMP~ Anyone??

  3. #13
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    I could very well be mistaken here, as I haven't used GRUB legacy in quite a while.
    But it seems like the important lines are commented out, meaning the system isn't reading them.
    Try this one. Mount your partition from a LiveCE as you did before, but then:
    Code:
    vim /boot/grub/grub.conf
    You should now have the file open, ready to edit.
    Use your arrow keys to move down to the line starting with title Gentoo.
    Use your 'delete' button to remove the hash mark (#).
    Do that for the lines starting with root, kernel and initrd, as well.

    Hit your 'Esc' key, and type
    Code:
    :wq
    <Enter>
    to save the file.
    Reboot.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    I could very well be mistaken here, as I haven't used GRUB legacy in quite a while.
    But it seems like the important lines are commented out, meaning the system isn't reading them.
    Try this one. Mount your partition from a LiveCE as you did before, but then:
    Code:
    vim /boot/grub/grub.conf
    You should now have the file open, ready to edit.
    Use your arrow keys to move down to the line starting with title Gentoo.
    Use your 'delete' button to remove the hash mark (#).
    Do that for the lines starting with root, kernel and initrd, as well.

    Hit your 'Esc' key, and type
    Code:
    :wq
    <Enter>
    to save the file.
    Reboot.
    Thanks alot for the fast reply, It Worked !!! Thanks alot!!
    But now , i've got another problem ,
    "Block Device /dev/sda3 is not valid root device"
    "Could not find the root blocck device in."
    Please specify another value or: press Enter for the same ,type "shell" for a shell, or "q" to skip..
    root block device()::

    hmm..How do i solve this ?
    Last edited by daim2604; 11-19-2011 at 10:31 PM.

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    9
    ~BUMP~ Anyone??

  6. #16
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Post the output of the following:
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    Code:
    cat /boot/grub/grub.conf
    Also, when you compiled your kernel, did you ensure that you included support for your drive type? I'm assuming SATA.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  7. #17
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    The problem here is that you are mounting Gentoo at /mnt/gentoo but you are issuing the command cat /boot/grub/grub.conf.
    You need to actually try this, since the mount point are different.
    Code:
    cat /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  8. #18
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    crud... I completely missed that!
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  9. #19
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    I almost missed it to Jay but I have had to do this so many times before on my own Gentoo machine, I guess I assumed the OP would know this.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •