Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Plz anyone can help me when I reboot my system after the installation, kernel doesn´t load, this is the error: pastebin .c om/ HuFN3ec6 thx...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12

    Kernel panic!!


    Plz anyone can help me when I reboot my system after the installation, kernel doesn´t load, this is the error:


    pastebin .c om/ HuFN3ec6

    thx

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    96
    It would be easier if we were mind readers on here but alas we are not, so, the more information you post the better.
    System specs.
    Operating system, etc, etc.
    Are you installing from a external drive?
    Last edited by Peconet009; 09-29-2012 at 03:29 PM. Reason: Addition

  3. #3
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by AntI-Her0 View Post
    Plz anyone can help me when I reboot my system after the installation, kernel doesn´t load, this is the error:


    pastebin .c om/ HuFN3ec6

    thx
    Ok, in your GRUB config file you need to add this to the kernel line
    kernel XXxXXXxXX root=/dev/sdxx
    Where /dev/sdxx is your actual root partition. Save, reboot and report back. I'm not at my Linux box right now but I can get there fast enough if you need more help.


    EDIT:
    http://pastebin.com/HuFN3ec6
    I'll add your link here but be advised, you can post those error messages here if you use the code tags.
    Last edited by MikeTbob; 09-29-2012 at 03:23 PM. Reason: See EDIT:
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12
    I have sonoy laptop VPCF1 i7 proccessor, 8GB RAM

    I´m usin Lilo instead of grub, does matter??

    this is my lilo.conf

    Code:
    root=/dev/sda            
    prompt                     
    timeout=50              
    default=gentoo   
    lba32
     
    image=/boot/kernel-3.4.9-gentoo
     label=Gentoo         
     read-only               
     root=/dev/sda4      
     append="video=uvesafb:mtrr,ywrap,1024x768-32@85"
    
    
     image=/boot/kernel-3.4.9-gentoo
     label=gentoo.rescue   
     read-only               
     root=/dev/sda4       
     append="init=/bin/bb"   
    
    
    other=/dev/sda1
      label=Windows7
    Last edited by MikeTbob; 09-29-2012 at 03:38 PM. Reason: Added code tags

  5. #5
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Try this

    Code:
    prompt                     
    timeout=50              
    default=gentoo   
    lba32
     
    image=/boot/kernel-3.4.9-gentoo root=/dev/sda4 
     label=Gentoo         
     read-only               
     append="video=uvesafb:mtrr,ywrap,1024x768-32@85"
    
    
     image=/boot/kernel-3.4.9-gentoo
     label=gentoo.rescue   
     read-only               
     root=/dev/sda4       
     append="init=/bin/bb"   
    
    
    other=/dev/sda1
      label=Windows7
    It's been a long time since I used Lilo but I think this might work. Not sure about that Read only, I guess try it and find out.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12
    the same error

    idk what is

    here is my kernel config, i think it´s ok...

    I write the link cause is too long for puti here in code right?


    bpaste .ne t/ show/4 8339/

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Did you execute lilo command after editing lilo.conf file?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    /dev/sda4 is your / partition right? Do you have a separate /boot partition also?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12
    yes, I executed /sbin lilo after reediting.

    and yes, my /boot partition is separated:

    Number Start End Size Type File system Flags
    1 32.3kB 460GB 460GB primary ntfs
    2 460GB 468GB 8497MB primary linux-swap(v1)
    3 468GB 469GB 428MB primary ext2 boot
    4 469GB 640GB 171GB primary ext4

  10. #10
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Here is an example from the Gentoo handbook

    Code:
    boot=/dev/sda             # Install LILO in the MBR
    prompt                    # Give the user the chance to select another section
    timeout=50                # Wait 5 (five) seconds before booting the default section
    default=gentoo            # When the timeout has passed, boot the "gentoo" section
    
    image=/boot/kernel-3.3.8-gentoo
      label=gentoo            # Name we give to this section
      read-only               # Start with a read-only root. Do not alter!
      root=/dev/sda3          # Location of the root filesystem
    
    image=/boot/kernel-3.3.8-gentoo
      label=gentoo.rescue     # Name we give to this section
      read-only               # Start with a read-only root. Do not alter!
      root=/dev/sda3          # Location of the root filesystem
      append="init=/bin/bb"   # Launch the Gentoo static rescue shell
    
    # The next two lines are only if you dualboot with a Windows system.
    # In this case, Windows is hosted on /dev/sda6.
    other=/dev/sda6
      label=windows
    And here is what I come up with.
    Code:
    prompt                     
    timeout=50              
    default=gentoo   
     
    image=/boot/kernel-3.4.9-gentoo
     label=Gentoo         
     read-only               
     root=/dev/sda4
    
     image=/boot/kernel-3.4.9-gentoo
     label=gentoo.rescue   
     read-only               
     root=/dev/sda4       
     append="init=/bin/bb"   
    
    
    other=/dev/sda1
      label=Windows7
    Your kernel .config doesn't help because we don't know what options you need vs what you have in your machine.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •