Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hello all, I have decided to try another distro and the one I have chosen is Sabayon. I am used to RH and one just updates the kernel along with ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,672

    Upgrading Sabayon kernel


    Hello all,

    I have decided to try another distro and the one I have chosen is Sabayon. I am used to RH and one just updates the kernel along with the other update. I have come to find out that is not how Sabayon works.

    I am not sure what needs to be updated when I update the kernel. Can anyone shed some light on the matter as I do not want to destroy my setup as I am tired of re-installing.

    Thnx.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    basically Sabayon is Gentoo and you update it via command line.
    Code:
    emerge --sync
    Code:
    emerge -avu world
    Unoffical Guide To World Update - Sabayon Wiki
    Or by using Entropy.
    En:Entropy - Sabayon Wiki

    I think you can update the kernel by itself without all the other stuff. What happened last time you updated and it broke? Did you lose X? Mouse & keyboard stopped working?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,672
    whole system stopped working. I re-installed to get everythings back.
    I use CLI for updating and upgrading.

    Code:
    equo upgrade
    equo update

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  4. #4
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by Lazydog View Post
    whole system stopped working. I re-installed to get everythings back.
    I use CLI for updating and upgrading.

    Code:
    equo upgrade
    equo update
    I'm just a little more interested in the failure you had. So, it didn't even boot to a terminal after things went haywire after updating the system? Was it a fresh install that got borked after you tried to update? I'm asking because I want to try the latest Sabayon.....it was a lot of fun last time I tried it. I think it was version 7? I'd like to try avoiding your problem if it's applicable. Are you AMD64? X86?
    Thanks for the tip about "equo upgrade" is that part of Entropy or something altogether different?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,672
    Hello MikeTbob, sorry I'm so late in replying, been busy lately with sandy pounding the east coast.

    Anyway, I was able to upgrade my kernel with
    Code:
    kernel-switcher switch sys-kernel/linux-sabayon-3.6-r1
    Now when I boot I get a message about a file missing and I have to hit a key to continue to boot.
    I was hoping to have this missing file logged somewhere but I cannot seem to find it.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  6. #6
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Nothing in /var/log/messages, dmesg, isn't there also a kernel log in /var/log/? I'm not at a Linux machine so I can't check that.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,672
    Checked dmesg and seen nothing, which I think is surprising. Nothing in the other files either. Remember this is right after I chose what I want to boot in grub.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  8. #8
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    It's not making it far enough to log anything. Still no idea what the missing files is named?


    Glad you made it through Sandy, it looks like a real mess around those parts. Hopefully things will start looking better soon.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  9. #9
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,672
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    It's not making it far enough to log anything. Still no idea what the missing files is named?
    No, I still haven't found out what is missing. But everything is booting and running so it cannot be all that bad.
    Maybe a splash screen of some sort.

    Glad you made it through Sandy, it looks like a real mess around those parts. Hopefully things will start looking better soon.
    Yeah, it is still a mess in some parts and now we have another storm blowing though.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  10. #10
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,672
    Moved on to installing Virtualbox on this system. Never played with VB always used kvm myself so this should be fun.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •