Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hi When i boot my Gentoo 2004.3 system, it ends with konsol login.But, how can i boot with gdm ? thanx...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    middle Asia
    Posts
    81

    How to start with gdm?


    Hi

    When i boot my Gentoo 2004.3 system, it ends with konsol login.But, how can i boot with gdm ?

    thanx

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Among the stars...
    Posts
    49
    Assuming that you have gdm installed, run this as root

    rc-update add gdm default

    Reboot and you will be greeted with a gdm GUI.

    taurus

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    middle Asia
    Posts
    81
    Quote Originally Posted by taurus
    Assuming that you have gdm installed, run this as root

    rc-update add gdm default

    Reboot and you will be greeted with a gdm GUI.

    taurus
    Hi
    it gives an error
    Code:
    * /sbin/rc-update: /etc/init.d/gdm not found; aborting.
    Code:
    #whereis gdm
    gdm: /usr/bin/gdm  /usr/share/gdm  /usr/man/man1/gdm.1.gz  /usr/share/man/man1/gdm.1.gz

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Among the stars...
    Posts
    49
    Okay, try this then...

    rc-update add xdm default

    Then edit your /etc/rc.conf and add these two lines at the end of it,

    nano -w /etc/rc.conf
    DISPLAYMANAGER="gdm"
    XSESSION="Gnome"

    Reboot and hopefully, you will see a GUI login...

    taurus

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    middle Asia
    Posts
    81
    Quote Originally Posted by taurus
    Okay, try this then...

    rc-update add xdm default

    Then edit your /etc/rc.conf and add these two lines at the end of it,

    nano -w /etc/rc.conf
    DISPLAYMANAGER="gdm"
    XSESSION="Gnome"

    Reboot and hopefully, you will see a GUI login...

    taurus

    thanx.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Among the stars...
    Posts
    49
    I assume it works then!

    taurus

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    55
    Is that all a display manager does? Shows a GUI login screen?

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Houston, Tx
    Posts
    144
    It can also handle remote connections.

  10. #9
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Windsor, CO
    Posts
    656
    You say "that's all it does?", but to the difference that can be made, take a look at what entrance can do with edje themeing.
    Emotions are the key to the soul.
    Registered Linux User #375050

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    45
    I just use plain old xdm. But its a server box. He's all business.

    Entrance looks pretty cool though.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •