Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
At the title states I want to remove NM from my system. I do not fell like I have the total control that I am used to having. RH uses ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,672

    Remove NetworkManager


    At the title states I want to remove NM from my system. I do not fell like I have the total control that I am used to having. RH uses scripts to start/restart/stop the network and that is what I am used to.

    I am also wondering if I could import the RH network scripts?

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Segfault's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Acadiana
    Posts
    877
    What exactly is stopping you from removing it. If you need better replacement wicd will do.

    Merry Christmas to everybody!

  3. #3
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,672
    Here is my issue or my holdup if you will.

    I am used to how RH does things. My network would be started from a script at boot time. RH does install NM but I remove it from the start as I understand how RH works and can get my network up and running in a short amount of time. Sabayon on the other hand is a learning curve. Things are done and started differently. I am still learning the ways of Sabayon but I do not care for NM. I am a CLI junky and that is how I update my system running Sabayon with equo. GUI's are nice but when it comes to the system I prefer the CLI.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  4. #4
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Well, I know you can unmerge NM with
    Code:
    emerge -p --depclean net-misc/networkmanager
    The above will (-p) pretend and also check the depends (--depclean), before removing anything. Remove the -p to actually remove the package.
    What I don't know is, what effects it will have, so issue that command and see what else it wants to uninstall also. I have never installed it so I don't know what kind of trouble you will run into. As far as setting up the Network via CLI, that should be a piece of cake. I can't really help with the scripts, sorry.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,672
    Thnx for you input. I was thinking about porting the RH scripts over and modifying them as needed.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  6. #6
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,040
    I suggest you check out the gentoo networking information

  7. #7
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,672
    Thank you for this URL. It will definitely help me in my quest.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer Segfault's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Acadiana
    Posts
    877
    It has been long time since I used RH, hmm ... 15 years now, are you saying nowadays RH has it's own way to switch between wired/wireless networks?

  9. #9
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,672
    Not what I am saying at all.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •