Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Howdy. I'm pretty new to gentoo myself. I did a stage 1 installation and everything went fine, except for one thing. My network doesnt load. During boot it says it's ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    6

    networking module 'via-velocity' not loading


    Howdy. I'm pretty new to gentoo myself. I did a stage 1 installation and everything went fine, except for one thing. My network doesnt load.

    During boot it says it's loading the module 'via-velocity', but it fails.

    I am running linux-2.4.26-gentoo-r14 and my ethernet controller is a VIA Rhine-II.

    lspci says my ethernet controller is there, and the network comes up fine if i were to boot into the liveCd.

    in /etc/conf.d/net, iface_eth0 is set to dhcp.

    in /usr/src/linux/.config, CONFIG_VIA_RHINE is set to 'm'

    if i run 'make modules modules_install' though, nothing gets fixed.

    'modprobe via-velocity' turns up nothing.

    i'm probably missing something. this is my first gentoo installation; i'm pretty happy that this is the only real problem i've had so far. does anyone have any ideas?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    when you "modprobe via-velocity", what does it say?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    6
    modprobe: Can't locate module via-velocity

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    That may be the incorrect name. Is that the same name that the gentoo liveCD uses? If you can't remember, you can do this to find it:

    Code:
    cd /lib/modules/2.6.whatever.your.kernel.is/
    find ./ -name *via*
    That will give you all the modules that you have compiled with 'via' in them.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  6. #5
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    so
    Code:
    cd /lib/modules/`uname -r`/

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    6
    aha!

    ./kernel/drivers/net/via-rhine.o

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    6

    huzzah

    i just did 'modprobe via-rhine' and it works now!

    i also took a look in
    /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.4

    and found an entry:
    via-velocity

    i changed that to:
    via-rhine

    and now everything loads perfectly after a reboot, too.

    Thanks alot!

  9. #8
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    That's the magic of "find"!
    -lakerdonald

  10. #9
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Quote Originally Posted by lakerdonald
    That's the magic of "find"!
    -lakerdonald
    The worst thing about the 'find' command is that it doesn't exist in real life.

    Code:
    find /drawer/ -name sock -type black
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •