Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm interested in increasing the resolution of my command line (ie before I start X). I used to know how on the "old" grub, using framebuffers and stuff. But I'm ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

CLI Resolution

I'm interested in increasing the resolution of my command line (ie before I start X). I used to know how on the "old" grub, using framebuffers and stuff. But I'm brand new to using grub2, which has a different configuration method. I've also heard that most new graphics cards have framebuffer support built in, and enabling it in software will cause problems (My card is 4 years old...).

Can anyone explain how you'd go about changing your command line resolution in the "modern" era? Or at least point me in the right direction? Thanks.

Just Joined!
    hi
    assuming you have /boot on a separate partition the main config file you can find in /boot/grub/grub.cfg, but this file is a product of the actual config files located in /etc directory i.e.
    /etc/grub.d and /etc/default/grub

To see the section related to the screen resolution you open /boot/grub/grub.cfg:
    if loadfont /share/grub/unicode.pf2 ; then
    set gfxmode=640x480
    load_video

The above section should be a product of /etc/default/grub config file - see section:
    # you can see them in real GRUB with the command `vbeinfo'
    #GRUB_GFXMODE=640x480

What is weird, the above line is hashed, so I wonder how come it is un-hashed in grub.cfg file?

Anyway, I guess youd unhush the above and try to set the resolution compatibile to your monitor and what happens.

ok, I actually found a tutorial and checked it myself - it was on ubuntu forum.
    1. Edit /etc/grub.d/00_header file.
    2. Find in there section as below:
    if loadfont `make_system_path_relative_to_its_root "${GRUB_FONT_PATH}"` ; then
    set gfxmode=${GRUB_GFXMODE}

Just right below that line enter the below line: