Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I am trying a stage3 installation, with no network. I copied the binary packages over and can see them in usr/portage/packages and all of em are there. But everytime I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1

    Emerging problems


    I am trying a stage3 installation, with no network. I copied the binary packages over and can see them in usr/portage/packages and all of em are there. But everytime I try to emerge, gentoo replies that I do not have right binary packages. Here it goes like this...

    #emerge -k sys-kernel/gentoo-sources

    and I get... that it cannot find the site

    with... emerge -K sys-kernel/gentoo-sources

    I get

    "There are no binary packages to satisfy sys-kernel/gentoo-sources
    Either add a suitable binary package or compile from an ebuild."

    Plus, when gentoo does search for a website, the package that it looks to download is one that I have.

    Oh, I'm going crazy, so help me out

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rockin' in the USA!!!
    Posts
    603
    by default, packages are downloaded to /usr/portage/distfiles, so try copying them there.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    and i'd recomend using the gentoo-dev-sources (the 2.6.x kernel)
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    16
    To use the -k or -K options with emerge you have to set up an environment variable PKGDIR, which in you case would be usr/portage/packages, so do these things:

    Code:
    export PKGDIR=usr/portage/packages
    emerge -K sys-kernel/gentoo-sources

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Quote Originally Posted by loft306
    and i'd recomend using the gentoo-dev-sources (the 2.6.x kernel)
    If you have more recent portage-snapshots, gentoo-sources is the 2.6 kernel. On my gentoo, gentoo-sources is 2.6.11-r5, and gentoo-dev-sources don't exist in the portage-three...

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366
    gentoo-sources is 2.6.11-r6 now, nice that they made 2.6 the default!
    Operating System: GNU Emacs

  7. #7
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    Quote Originally Posted by genesus
    gentoo-sources is 2.6.11-r6 now, nice that they made 2.6 the default!
    I found out that gentoo-dev-sources dont exist no more when i tried updating to rhe r4 kernel i think it was. if i remember correctly that was the first kernel that was 2.6.x in the gentoo-sources pkg instead of gentoo-dev-sources
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •